Author Topic: Directly placed template weapon in CC  (Read 29257 times)

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Directly placed template weapon in CC
« on: June 05, 2006, 04:51:30 AM »
Can a directly placed template weapon (e.g. FT and shotgun) be used while engaged in CC?
Disciples for example only have the shot pistol. Can they use that after an enemy engages them in CC or do they need to break away first?

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2006, 06:26:11 AM »
The answer is no they can't be used.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2006, 08:00:27 AM »
thought so... just checking  :)

Offline Stalker

  • FAQ Team
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 510
  • Karma: +26/-1
  • Mid-west Crusader / FAQ team member
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2006, 01:10:58 PM »
Just to verify, they would need to break away and then shoot.
If you shoot for the moon and miss, you are still among the stars.

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2006, 03:19:48 PM »
Correct
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2006, 08:15:59 AM »
"if no CC weapon, one handed firearms/smg's/melee weapons or natural Attack, then model may make unarmed CC attacks at -4 CC and ST DAM.  Rifles, HMG's, two handed Ranged Combat weapons etc that have a CC stat make attacks at ST DAM.  Bayonettes do full listed weapon damage plus any bonus's"

the psuedo-ruling from a while back.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2006, 08:32:52 AM »
Uhm the Disciples Shot Pistol is a one handed firearm i think... but it still can't be used in CC so disciples can make an unarmed CC attack at -4CC and ST DAM, right?
« Last Edit: June 08, 2006, 08:36:49 AM by chribu »

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2006, 08:34:40 AM »
If you really want to hit at 2CC and 4 DAM, be my guest.
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2006, 08:42:48 AM »
Well, if I have a 8 model disciple squad, 1 model is engaged in CC with an enemy model (last one on the table) and hasn't managed to break away with it's 3 actions, i have 7 models left.
They can
A) do nothing and WAIT (thus on the enemy model's next activation they will probably kill him, but only after he's killed my model)
B) try and shoot with the shotguns on the 2 models in CC, thus having a chance to kill my one too
C) try a couple of CC attacks each at the enemy model.

I think option C is the one that gives me the best chances at killing the enemy unit without losing my one.


Oh, and the previous scenario has happened to me twice in the last week!

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2006, 09:04:19 AM »
erm...

you'd have a lot better chance dog piling him than you would Shooting into CC.

They're Grunts, so you'd have to make the prerequisite LD test to shoot into CC.  Which is a -8.  given their stellar LD of 10...


all in all, I'd go for the gangbeating.

-PFC joe
« Last Edit: June 08, 2006, 09:39:01 AM by PFC joe »
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2006, 09:28:28 AM »
uhm
last time you said

Quote
Are you allowed to use a template weapon (lets say a flamer) if you hit a friendly model, too?
If you are going to hit a friendly model with a template you must first  pass a LD test at -8 before you can fire.  (Unscrupulous ignores that).  if you fail you lose the rest of your actions for this turn.  There is no additional test, only the -8 one.  You must make this test for each time you wish to fire into CC  (only once for multipe ROF weapons).
-PFC joe
so i thought... just 1 test, not 2...

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2006, 09:38:22 AM »
Whoops! i know I remembered just after i said that, and tried to find the previous post!...

goes back and edits the last comment.!

-PFC joe

-sorry a bit rusty-
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2006, 09:49:23 AM »
 ;) Thanks for everything anyway, as usual!

Offline komplikator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Myself :)
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2007, 02:55:24 PM »
"if no CC weapon, one handed firearms/smg's/melee weapons or natural Attack, then model may make unarmed CC attacks at -4 CC and ST DAM.  Rifles, HMG's, two handed Ranged Combat weapons etc that have a CC stat make attacks at ST DAM.  Bayonettes do full listed weapon damage plus any bonus's"
-PFC joe

Bayonettes do full listed weapon damage plus any bonus's ....

Belzerach and Scythe of Semai HMG have integrated bayonets... that means, Belzerach`s DAM in CC is 11 and DAM 13 for Scythe of Semai?
Czech Warzone community

Offline Archer

  • Board Member
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1676
  • Karma: +64/-2
  • Warzone General extrodinare based in Reading, PA
Re: Directly placed template weapon in CC
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2007, 04:00:56 PM »

Bayonettes do full listed weapon damage plus any bonus's ....

Belzerach and Scythe of Semai HMG have integrated bayonets... that means, Belzerach`s DAM in CC is 11 and DAM 13 for Scythe of Semai?

This was a type-o.  Its user Str + bayonet damage; Which means that a Militia with a bayonet is doing a Str 6 hit on a charge (str4 +1 for bayonet +1 for charge)

  It says clearly in the rules about Side Arms being usable... and that anything bigger than a SIDEARM was essentially an expensive club.
John "Archer" Tinney

"Ready?"
"Why do your people always ask if someone is ready, just before you do something massively unwise?"
"Tradition."

- Jeffrey Sinclair and Delenn, Babylon 5: "War Without End, Part One" y