Author Topic: Net rules need to be clarified  (Read 2791 times)

Offline Buzzu

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +5/-0
Net rules need to be clarified
« on: September 20, 2020, 12:13:02 AM »
Hy guys.
After another exciting meeting of the Chronopia Italian Club (which is growing!) we found ourselves stuck in a debate about how the net weapon really works. Since the Swamp Goblins are my army at the moment, it's really important for me to clarify which of the following interpretations is the correct one.

Premise: the net is a throwing weapon. Your mini has to throw it at the correct range, see if it hits the target using it's RC stat, and the target has to make an armor roll against a damage of 10. If it succeeds nothing happens, if it fails he's trapped in the net. OK, up to this moment, everything is clear. The dispute begun immediately after.

According to the rules, the trapped model is CONSIDERED prone, and it has to make a break test against a strength of the net of 10.

This can be read in two different ways, the first one making the net a nice but weak disturb, the second one making it maybe way too powerful.

Version 1) the model has to spend actions attempting to escape from the net rolling a die and adding it's strength until it reaches a total of 10 (very easy), like it happens with the freeze spell of the elves. Until netted, he has the same malus of a prone model (+4 to Def) but once free, he can act as normal. This makes the net a simple disturb that makes you use an action to escape. Very strong models can escape very easily.

Version 2) the netted model has to make a break away test from the net: this means rolling a die and adding the model's strength and make a better result than your opponent rolling a die and adding the net's strength. This is really difficult and requires in many cases more turns. Once free, since the model is prone, it has to spend another action to stand up. This makes the net a very strong device. Big models have more chances of breaking free having a bonus and flying models can break free by only using an action, but an average model with only two actions will be stuck for a full game turn even if lucky enough to escape with it's first roll.

Version 3) a mix. You only have to reach a value of 10 or more to be free but another action to stand up since you are still prone once free.

Which is the correct one?

Let's state it once and for all.

Offline Buzzu

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: +5/-0
Re: Net rules need to be clarified
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2020, 01:55:01 PM »
Having no answer after more than a month, we (the Italian club) decided to vote. The winning option is number 3, because it seemed the most balanced one between effectiveness of the tool as a disturb and beeing fair enough to be solved for the price of the unit who use it.
Just to let you know, in case anyone else was thinking about it.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Net rules need to be clarified
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2021, 08:43:03 AM »
I think you made the right decision.  The net was never correct.  I always thought that the net should have been a close combat attack like a gladiators net.  I found this confusing from the Blackblood Troll and his net.  I avoided it by going with the other weapon.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA