Author Topic: Chronopia Tac Sense?  (Read 8373 times)

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Chronopia Tac Sense?
« on: April 29, 2008, 07:01:00 AM »
The basic question: In Chronopia, you need a LD test to attack a model that's not the closest one to your model.  Does this LD test come at the cost of an action? 

The confusion.  I've been playing a lot of Chronopia with Warzone players, and the mechanics are similar, but obviously key differences are needed to convey a fantasy combat vs. a sci-fi one.  Sometimes, we get confused, well, me, most of the time.

In Warzone, and mind you I've only played one game, I think you can use the "tac sense" with one action.  In Chronopia, I don't remember seeing it spelled out that the LD test costs an action.  We rarely come across this, but in Chronopia, where most models have two actions instead of three, an action means a lot, even though it's primarily designed to be a close combat game.

The other night, Bryon's Nameless was coming after my Firstborn Swordsmen.  He wanted to Leap into the ranks and take out the Standard Bearer.  Perfectly legal move, but I think he decided against it more for tactical reasons than rules confusion on my part.  I couldn't tell him for certain if an action was required to use the LD test or if it was free.

Any input appreciated.  The whole forum knows I'm not the swiftest cat, so you've no worry about offending me by telling me what page it's on!!
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Glenn M

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 822
  • Karma: +29/-6
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 07:16:46 AM »
It shouldn't have required an LD test, it is not a ranged attack, as I understand it that rule ONLY applies to ranged attacks.  Also, as I understand it it does not require an action either.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2008, 07:20:22 AM »
If I get a game in tonight, I'll try to track down what I think I remember reading regarding charging a further model. 
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2008, 08:47:04 AM »
Per the Holy Book of Knowledge, bottom of page 65, into page 66:

"Individuals are an exception to the rule of attcking the closest enemy model. They may make a LD test to attack a model in a Warband that may be further away as long as it is still within Charging distance. If the test is failed, the Inidividual cannot make it's charge and will have wasted that Action."

So yes the Individual must spend an action, but it is part of the Charge. If the model passes, the Charge continues as normal. If the model fails, the Action is wasted.

SP
« Last Edit: April 29, 2008, 08:52:56 AM by Southpaw »
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2008, 10:01:10 AM »
I had just opened The Sacred Tome of Chronopia to that page and pressed reply.

Good one Southpaw!

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2008, 10:35:46 AM »
My pleasure. Glad to be of service.

SP
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2008, 12:26:49 PM »
That's exactly what I was asking about.  Thanks, as always. 
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline DogOWar

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2008, 06:07:21 PM »
That rule has been a saving grace for the Warrior of the Sun on several occasions.
Its not the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog!

ebay "handle": irishdog143

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2008, 12:48:57 PM »
Speaking of which, did you need one from the Prince August fiasco? 
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline DogOWar

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: Chronopia Tac Sense?
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2008, 02:19:17 PM »
Speaking of which, did you need one from the Prince August fiasco? 

Thnaks Josh, but I got 1 from them, although they did miss an SOK Chieftan.  But I can live without.  Thaks for the thought though.
Its not the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog!

ebay "handle": irishdog143