Author Topic: Mortars  (Read 4090 times)

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Mortars
« on: December 21, 2005, 11:22:52 AM »
Hi, I'm new to this game (only 1 250p game for the moment), having moved from Doomtrooper to this.

I have a question about mortars.
Do I need to aim a model or can I aim a spot on the ground (hoping to hit surrounding units with the explosion)?

If I aim and hit a model a few inches behind a high wall with a forward observer, will the explosion hit the models next to the wall too? Or does the rule that states that indirect fire cannot hit units behind and very close to a wall still apply?

Thanks, Chribu

p.s. where can i find files for the army builder?

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Mortars
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2005, 02:00:20 PM »
You have to aim at a model.

As long as it doesn't fall into dead space (ie the target is a legal target) it will hit everything beneath the template.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem prŠparet bellum

Offline Stalker

  • FAQ Team
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 510
  • Karma: +26/-1
  • Mid-west Crusader / FAQ team member
Re: Mortars
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2005, 02:02:37 PM »
Targeting priority states that you need to fire at the closest threat.  This would mean that you have to target a model. 

If you shoot a model on a wall, the shrapnel would certainly fall on those at the base of the wall as well.  If the template overlapse the base then the model would be hit.
If you shoot for the moon and miss, you are still among the stars.

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Mortars
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2005, 02:05:43 PM »
a) uhm, dead space... I think that's what I meant, the target is not a legal target if it's too close to the wall. So even if the explosion extends to models in that area, those models will not be damaged? [do I understand correctly that your 2 answers guys are in conflict one another?]

b) suppose that ALL enemy models are behind a wall and not-targetable. Then my mortars can't shoot?


Thanks :D
« Last Edit: December 21, 2005, 02:08:17 PM by chribu »

Offline Stalker

  • FAQ Team
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 510
  • Karma: +26/-1
  • Mid-west Crusader / FAQ team member
Re: Mortars
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2005, 02:11:56 PM »
a) I would go with Pvt Joes ruling.  At the moment I am unofficial.

b) That is correct.  There is no longer any speculative fire as there was in 2nd ed.  If you can't see it (either with a spotter or an forward observer) then you can't fire at it.
If you shoot for the moon and miss, you are still among the stars.

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Mortars
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2005, 03:24:10 PM »
as long as the center of the template is in a non-dead space area, the entire template does damage.


-PFC joe

(i think that's what you're asking)
Qui desiderat pacem prŠparet bellum

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Mortars
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2005, 03:33:25 PM »
Ok, thanks, got it.
Thanks both for your help :)