Author Topic: Clarification on saves against spells  (Read 5920 times)

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Clarification on saves against spells
« on: November 20, 2005, 09:03:45 AM »
Hello out there,

the Rules say, that you save against spells by rolling under LD - spell level - situational modifiers....

So far everything is ok, but what are these situational modifiers?

Will the use of a concentrate action power the spell up, so that it would be harder to save against? IF the answer is yes, what modifier will concentrate give?

THX in advance...

Anomander Rake
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Clarification on saves against spells
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2005, 10:35:46 PM »
Concentrating adds +3 to the PW of the caster. It does not alter the level of the spell.
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Re: Clarification on saves against spells
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2005, 10:47:30 PM »
Concentrating adds +3 to the PW of the caster. It does not alter the level of the spell.

Has the modifier changed? We play it still with the +2 modifier....

With 'casting a spell' the rules count concentrate as a situational modifier...but what would it be with resisting? Uo to now, I can't imagine anything that would modify it further....

Anomander Rake
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Clarification on saves against spells
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2005, 05:12:21 PM »
I don't have my book handy, and my sleep-deprived brain is known to make typos at times. I will check again once I get home from work and clarify for you.
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Clarification on saves against spells
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2005, 01:32:58 AM »
Per the Core Rulebook, Concentrate adds +2 to the PW of the caster for purposes of spell-casting.

Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Re: Clarification on saves against spells
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2005, 02:40:08 AM »
Per the Core Rulebook, Concentrate adds +2 to the PW of the caster for purposes of spell-casting.

OK, so we have this thing clarificated... ;)

But there is still on question unanswered:

the Rules say, that you save against spells by rolling under LD - spell level - situational modifiers....
So far everything is ok, but what are these situational modifiers?

Can someone give me input on this one?

Anomander Rake
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Clarification on saves against spells
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2005, 06:17:00 AM »
I can't think of one listed yet in the book, but it could come in handy.  Would the leadership save against a Lotus Eater's lightning be more or less difficult, say, if the model being attacked was standing in a pool of water?  Situational modifiers would have to be agreed upon, or settled with a die roll, per anything not covered in the rules, or in a grey area of the rules.  Maybe the next installment will have some modifiers to the leadership number, but I like the open ended ambiguity just the way it is.   :D
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA