Author Topic: Charge  (Read 5709 times)

Offline mlnunn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +1/-0
Charge
« on: June 23, 2007, 11:50:27 AM »
What is the advantage of charge?  You don't get to attack at the end of it do you?

How exactally does this work?

M
You have never lived 'til you've almost died.
For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected will never know.

Offline Dr. Nick

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
  • Karma: +48/-16
Re: Charge
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2007, 12:31:14 PM »
??


a charge is a move to the enemy.
as soon as you are in contact with him you do indeed get an attack..

cu
« Last Edit: June 24, 2007, 05:10:21 AM by NoTrollNick »
"Donīt anticipate outcome. Await the unfolding of events. Remain in the moment."

Offline mlnunn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Charge
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2007, 12:53:59 PM »
Ok maybe that question was a little dense... but what I meant was:

The rules say any move than brings you into base to base contact it considered a charge. 

If you have 2 actions can you Run, then charge, then get an attack?  Wouldn't that be three actions? 

The rules also say after you are in base to base you can make a normal CC, it doesn't say when you make it, Now or when you have another action. 


M
« Last Edit: June 23, 2007, 12:56:50 PM by mlnunn »
You have never lived 'til you've almost died.
For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected will never know.

Offline PhillySniper

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1047
  • Karma: +84/-9
Re: Charge
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2007, 05:28:03 PM »
Charge is attacking into CC when not already in base to base contact. It give you the additional bonus for being the aggressor.
Ok maybe that question was a little dense... but what I meant was:

The rules say any move than brings you into base to base contact it considered a charge. 

If you have 2 actions can you Run, then charge, then get an attack?  Wouldn't that be three actions? 

The rules also say after you are in base to base you can make a normal CC, it doesn't say when you make it, Now or when you have another action.

M

To answer your question. If you have two actions you can run and then charge. That would be the end of your activations. You do not get a third. See my above explaination for charge.

 Example: A warband of swordsmen are 5" away from a warband of spearmen. The swordsmen activate. 1st action a model runs 4 1/2" which leaves him short of being in CC. 2nd action he charges the final 1/2" into base to base. So you would then take your CC stat and add 1 to it for the charge. ie CC 9 + 1 = 10 for a to hit number of 10. You would also get a +1 to your damage if you hit.

If you are already in base to base you do not get a charge bonus. It would just be a normal CC attack.

Example:Swordsman is in base to base contact with a spearman. He elects to attack. He would attack with just his CC stat with no charge bonus. ie CC 9 = 9 for a to hit number. DAM would be as normal no +1.

I hope that helped.
Shoot First and ask questions later.

Homebase- Philadelphia
Ebay name. Phillychocolatem

Offline PhillySniper

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1047
  • Karma: +84/-9
Re: Charge
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2007, 05:29:39 PM »
??
a charge is a move to the enemy.
as soon as you are in contact with him you do indeed get an attack..

i think you need to read the rulebook again, and maybe a dictionary..
cu

 THAT was unnecessary. A player asked a question expecting help NOT sarcasm.
Shoot First and ask questions later.

Homebase- Philadelphia
Ebay name. Phillychocolatem

Offline Topkick

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3052
  • Karma: +222/-22
  • Former Crusader Coordinator - Midwest Region
Re: Charge
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2007, 06:46:32 PM »
Got to side with Philly here. The man is new to the forums and new to the game and asked a question expecting help. Frankly if you don't want to offer helpful advice then kindly refrain from posting. Save the smart comments for spammers and trolls.
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind. - Dr. Seuss (1904 - 1991)

Homebase:  South Central Wisconsin
E-Bay Handle: Topkick-890

Offline Dr. Nick

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
  • Karma: +48/-16
Re: Charge
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2007, 05:09:55 AM »
no, really, i thought he was not a native english speaker.

also, i have answered his question.
Quote
you do indeed get an attack


@
Quote
i think you need ...
was perhaps to strong, but that was a very basic question...

@mlnunn: sorry :)
"Donīt anticipate outcome. Await the unfolding of events. Remain in the moment."

Offline mlnunn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Charge
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2007, 06:10:38 AM »
No offense taken!  People who know me often tell me I need a dictionary, especialy when reading my writing.

One of my players thought charge was like in D&D, an action that ended with an attack, as part of the charge.  So your answers clear that up.  I am sure we will have a lot of simple questions as we get deeper into the game and start adding in all the various parts in full.

Thanks for the help!

M

You have never lived 'til you've almost died.
For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected will never know.

Offline Dr. Nick

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
  • Karma: +48/-16
Re: Charge
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2007, 06:50:30 AM »
Quote
an action that ended with an attack, as part of the charge. 

like here! wz/chr
"Donīt anticipate outcome. Await the unfolding of events. Remain in the moment."

Offline mlnunn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Charge
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2007, 01:41:28 PM »
Yep... some times the answer is so obvious it looks hard. 

M
You have never lived 'til you've almost died.
For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected will never know.