Author Topic: Few questions  (Read 18884 times)

Offline fuko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-1
Few questions
« on: October 20, 2005, 04:30:28 AM »
1. Wolf Legion Standard and Gauntlet have according to FAQ MV=3, what about other Legion (Warriors and Leader)?(I think that there is something wrong with their costs as well...)
2. I have a problem with Dark Tusk totem - it has tusk attack, than in other line it is written that he may make sweep attack - does it mean that he may make both of them or only one (chosen by player) in one action?

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Re: Few questions
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 04:56:32 AM »
.....2. I have a problem with Dark Tusk totem - it has tusk attack, than in other line it is written that he may make sweep attack - does it mean that he may make both of them or only one (chosen by player) in one action?.....

I would go for the second alternative. The tusk attack is to be used to enter combat by charging the enemy, or when already in close combat. but when you are already engaged in close combat you may choose to attack your opponent or to make the sweep attack or grab and hurl attack.

just my two cents...

Anomander Rake
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Re: Few questions
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2005, 05:05:43 AM »
....1. Wolf Legion Standard and Gauntlet have according to FAQ MV=3, what about other Legion (Warriors and Leader)?(I think that there is something wrong with their costs as well...)....

here is the exact paragraph from the FAQs
Quote
Dwarven Stats:
Wolf Legion Gauntlet Warriors and Standard Bearer (page 207)- AR=20, MV=3
Wolf Axe Warriors & Leader (page 208)- MV=3
Wolf Clan Scouts & Leader (page 208)- MV=3
Horned Ones Warshields, Musicians, Standard Bearers & Leader (pages 211-212)- MV=3

When reading the introduction to the wolf clan on page 189 (The Military) they are described to be the fastest of all dwarves...so I would assume that all wolf clan legions should move with speed 3.

just my two cents...

Anomander Rake
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Few questions
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2005, 05:26:01 AM »
I'm well on my way to 3000 points of Wolf Clan Dwarves, and I'm happy they corrected the movement for these guys, and the armor and point costs.  It could be worded better, I agree, but it is inferred that the whole army moves 3", except the Desert Wolf Warriors at 4"!  Makes for a very interesting army to play.

Regarding the Dark Tusk Ram Attack: I'm pretty sure it is only on a charge that they get this attack.  If the model is already in CC, it does not get this, but sweep then can come into bear.  Sweep is cool, but can ONLY be used once you are in CC, not on a charge.   
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline fuko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Few questions
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2005, 06:34:32 AM »
I'm not talking about Durk Tusk special attack, but about Dark Tusk Blood Totem and his tusk and sweep attack - both those attacks cost 1 action, they are natural attacks so could be made simultaneusly but they are written in separate paragraphs, without any "and" between them so I'm a bit confused...

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Few questions
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2005, 07:02:06 AM »
My mistake fuko.   :-[  If nobody chimes in to clear this up before me, I'll read over the Dark Tusk Totem tonight, and have a look.  Cheers. 
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Few questions
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2005, 10:20:28 AM »
I'm not talking about Durk Tusk special attack, but about Dark Tusk Blood Totem and his tusk and sweep attack - both those attacks cost 1 action, they are natural attacks so could be made simultaneusly but they are written in separate paragraphs, without any "and" between them so I'm a bit confused...

Correct. Since both are classified as Natural Weapons, they can both be used.

And, consequently, so can the Grab, since it is also a Natural Weapon....

mwahahahahaaaa......
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Few questions
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2005, 12:47:24 PM »
Southpaw, you are one of the good ones.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Ruther

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 233
  • Karma: +15/-7
    • Warzone Deutschland
Re: Few questions
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2005, 01:03:22 PM »
can we get an answer from E.Prime for the Totem question? :)
He Who Laughs Last, Thinks Fastest

Offline Anubis31

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: +13/-3
  • Exclesior Staff/Design
    • Excelsior Entertainment
Re: Few questions
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2005, 03:06:36 PM »
IN the rule book on page 94 under natural weapons this is written
" Anytime a model has more than one Natural weapon to attack with, it may attack with ALL its Natural Weapons for each Action spent, unless otherwise stated in the models profile"

Offline FrostWolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Few questions
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2005, 04:05:32 PM »
Like Anubis said, you make both Attacks at the same time. Because the nature of the attacks are different "weapons", One is the Tusk attack, and the other a slap with the massive arms, I see no reason why the Totem can not use both at the same time.

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Re: Few questions
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2005, 10:37:17 PM »
IN the rule book on page 94 under natural weapons this is written
" Anytime a model has more than one Natural weapon to attack with, it may attack with ALL its Natural Weapons for each Action spent, unless otherwise stated in the models profile"

When you have a look at the other totem profiles there is always an 'and' between there different Natural Weapons. In the case of the dark tusk there is no connection to the different weapon attacks...
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline Ruther

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 233
  • Karma: +15/-7
    • Warzone Deutschland
Re: Few questions
« Reply #12 on: October 21, 2005, 02:07:16 AM »
well for me the tusk totem just has different options when in combat:

1st If it want to dish out massive damage to one Modell (usualy when in melee with an individual).

2nd  Instead of that it can choose to do Sweep (usefull if its swarmed by enemy units)
Sweepattacks are practically multiple attacks per one action (on such a  big beast plain ugly).

3rd in special situations it may decide to grap and hurl, wich gives it another flexible attack "choice".

The three different attacks are "techniques" done with a natural weapon. and not natural weapons by itsefl.

just my two cents ^^



He Who Laughs Last, Thinks Fastest

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Re: Few questions
« Reply #13 on: October 21, 2005, 02:42:55 AM »
.....The three different attacks are "techniques" done with a natural weapon. and not natural weapons by itsefl......
#

Yeah, that's the same way I read the rules, you can choose what kind of attack you want to make!

Furthermore you can't use all three options at the same time cause the Grab and Hurl takes two actions...

just my two cents....
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline masherking

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • THE ALLATLOH of ROCK n' ROLLA
Re: Few questions
« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2005, 04:08:37 AM »
OMG!!

my main army is an all darktusk force.
I never knew I could us all my natural attacks.

                                     .....*blink*....
                                     .....*blink*....
                                     ...I think I just blown a load in my shorts. :P

 THE EVIL I CAN NOW REAP ON THE BATTELFIELD MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. ;D
          .....I think I need to sit down, uh wait I'm already sitting .

-steve 
Goddamn! its good to be the MasherKing.
home: New Jersey
E-bay: Johny_wonderful