Author Topic: Directly Placed Template questions  (Read 6735 times)

Bane

  • Guest
Directly Placed Template questions
« on: October 09, 2005, 01:50:10 PM »
A few questions on directly placed templates came up last night in a game.

1. Do you have to roll to hit with a directly placed template, such as a flame thrower?
2. Do you have to roll against all the targets under the template, or do you hit them all?
3. If you have three actions, can a flame thrower or rocket launcher be fired three times?

The imformation on directly placed templates seems to be missing in the book.

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2005, 02:22:17 PM »
1. no
2. no, you hit them all
3. yes, unless prohibited by a ROF "once per turn" or other limitation


you really only need to ask questions like this in the "game questions" section.  The FAQ area is really reserved for rules conflicts or dificulties of the like.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline jjdodger

  • Board Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +16/-0
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2005, 06:51:06 PM »
so, in effect, they can never run out of ammo (for scenarios), they can never jam (in environmental effects), and they can never critically hit or jam??? sounds kinda odd.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2005, 06:57:50 PM by jjdodger »

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2005, 07:03:33 PM »
For scenarios that keep track of ammo/dramatic weapon malfunctions (Bad Moon Rising) roll a d20 for ammo checks.  It's what I do.

Ranged templates can critically hit and or miss as they require a to-hit roll (the original post mentioned Rocket Launchers).  Directly placed templates do not.  It is really hard to miss with a Flamethrower and given the template shape, these flechette weapons have had the choke combat modified to fire in a wider cone thus ensuring an easy shot pattern.

one note to my previous question

2.  no, you hit up to the cluster effect of models.  If no Cluster Effect is listed then all models under the template are considered hit.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2005, 10:25:04 AM »
In the Bad Moon scenario the flame thrower should have to roll to check for jam, out of fuel, and weapn breakage.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2005, 01:14:45 PM »
Thats the way we played it.  Same for Shotguns.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Psyborg

  • Guest
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2005, 06:57:03 AM »
Thats the way we played it.  Same for Shotguns.

-PFC joe
But remember that for Shotguns they only hit the number of models under the temlpate as their Cluster Effect (CE) rating and you have to roll for those hits individually.  This is for Shotgun only.

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2005, 07:04:30 AM »
You only roll for the Armor saves individualy.

and when checking ammo, it's only one roll per action spent firing.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #8 on: October 13, 2005, 03:44:48 PM »
Thats the way we played it.  Same for Shotguns.

-PFC joe
But remember that for Shotguns they only hit the number of models under the temlpate as their Cluster Effect (CE) rating and you have to roll for those hits individually.  This is for Shotgun only.

Yes, but JK's Rotary Shotguns have a Cluster Effect: 5; the TRS: 6!
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Directly Placed Template questions
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2005, 08:45:31 PM »
-shudder-

i know....
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum