Author Topic: template wepons when stalking  (Read 11822 times)

Offline monte_kev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +3/-0
template wepons when stalking
« on: October 05, 2005, 09:18:29 AM »
if you are stalking or concealed, you cannot be targeted, but can you be effected by a effect that can target a spot on the battle field. Also can a template wepon effect you if it happens to be targeting a model next to a concealed model?

or is the official rule:
"If you cannot be seen, you cannot be damaged"
Kevin
Avid Drag racer + TTGamer
currently running
Bauhaus and Brotherhood
www.miniartofwar.com

Offline Gallagher_Standard_Barer

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +17/-1
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2005, 02:15:04 PM »
This was one of the last big debates on the old forum, if I remeber Coil passed it up to the FAQ team and then the stuff hit the fan and we never heard back from the FAQ team.

Though if I remeber the general concensus of the forum users was that a stalking model cannot be effected by a template.

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2005, 01:59:56 AM »
As long as it would require a Spot check to see it, you can't hit it with an overlapping template.

(oh Heavens, please don't start up the Spot thread again -crosses fingers-)

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Enker

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 210
  • Karma: +16/-1
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2005, 02:25:20 AM »
You can't harm a model that is not on the table.
So a stalkin model is not harmed by a template weapon.
I think this was the last result of the discussion.
Marines! Lets kick some A S S!

Offline monte_kev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2005, 08:31:47 AM »
thank you
Kevin
Avid Drag racer + TTGamer
currently running
Bauhaus and Brotherhood
www.miniartofwar.com

Offline T Prime

  • Big Kahuna, Chairman of the Board
  • Administrator
  • Member Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 6468
  • Karma: +75/-0
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2005, 10:00:22 AM »
Consider that a Stalking model is represented on the boards by its model and that overspray from a template could be avoided unless the model were actually revealed first.
Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc
Excelsior!!

Offline behemoth

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +7/-1
    • Kimmo's Corner
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2005, 12:00:10 AM »
Except that I recall that a spotted model is visible to the spotter's squad only (so it is stealthy to others).

So what happens when a model is revealed by one squad, but is in stealth mode concerning other squads?

Or should the rules about spotting read that once a stealthy unit is spotted, it loses it's stealthy status to all other units as well?

I think this was raised in the old thread, but I don't recall an answer.

EDIT: P42-43 (Making a spot check) indicate that each and every squad needs to make a separate spot test to reveal the concealed unit (or receive a "Give Orders" action that gives away the location of the concealed unit).
« Last Edit: October 12, 2005, 11:30:48 AM by behemoth »
"Just 'Cos You Got The Power,
That don't mean you got the right."
-Motorhead

Offline LAWwaldo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2005, 03:03:49 PM »
  Also, for a unit that has Stealth, don't you roll to spot each model individually rather than spotting the entire unit with just one dice roll?
"Life is tough; it's even tougher when your stupid." - John Wayne

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2005, 04:10:43 PM »
Not to my knowledge.  The Stealthy unit is represented by the card, and the cards moves as the unit until spotted, or it leaves stealth.  In either case, the unit is deployed, and may not re-enter steath mode for the rest of the game.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Wulfen

  • Guest
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2005, 04:27:08 PM »
Something else I was unaware of. Models in Stealth, when spotted, are revealed as an entire unit?? The spot rules refer to models, not units. Same with Stealth, to the best of my knowledge.

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2005, 06:02:28 PM »
I think that model is synonymous with unit, in this case.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline behemoth

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +7/-1
    • Kimmo's Corner
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2005, 09:55:46 PM »
The Stealthy unit is represented by the card, and the cards moves as the unit until spotted, or it leaves stealth.  In either case, the unit is deployed, and may not re-enter steath mode for the rest of the game.

I agree that the spotting is made for the unit card and once spotted, the unit is deployed as normal... however it DOES explicitly state that the models need to be separately spotted by members of units other than unit whose member actually made the spotting. Hence now the models are in stealth mode regarding every model except those unit that revealed the unit in the first case. If they don't shoot or move full or do other things that break Stealth, as far as I'm concerned they are still in Stealth mode for those units that haven't spotted them.

I find the P42-43 (Making a Spot Check) pretty hard to obey since it adds extra bookkeeping (one needs to know WHO sees the stealthy models and who does not), but it also adds a great deal of realism and also makes Stealth SA more usable.
"Just 'Cos You Got The Power,
That don't mean you got the right."
-Motorhead

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2005, 10:08:15 PM »
this is where colored markers come in handy.  assign a different color to each stealthy unit and drop a similar  one to the squads that have made the roll.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline behemoth

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +7/-1
    • Kimmo's Corner
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2005, 11:28:17 PM »
this is where colored markers come in handy.  assign a different color to each stealthy unit and drop a similar  one to the squads that have made the roll.

-PFC joe

Yes I know that is a way to deal with it ... but I mentioned this in relation to the original question. WHAT exactly happens if a template hits a Stealthy squad that is already deployed on the table (spotted by some, but not all enemy units).
"Just 'Cos You Got The Power,
That don't mean you got the right."
-Motorhead

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: template wepons when stalking
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2005, 12:31:44 AM »
Ooooh.  Now i'm tracking.  aight give me a few minutes.  I'll think of something.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum