Author Topic: Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?  (Read 3847 times)

Offline The_Collector

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +2/-0
Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?
« on: October 16, 2006, 11:09:11 PM »
Hi!

I am taking a break of 40K and finally started reading UWZ. So, now that I am putting together a Capitol force, I was wondering whether I can take named individuals (such as Kowalski) or do I have to ask my opponent's permission first?

Cheers

TC
Exitus Acta Probat

Offline Dr. Nick

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
  • Karma: +48/-16
Re: Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2006, 12:44:33 AM »
I think that is up to you and your opponent


"officially" you can take them. cybertronic, for example, does not have many options....
"Donīt anticipate outcome. Await the unfolding of events. Remain in the moment."

Offline Veez

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2990
  • Karma: +159/-7
Re: Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2006, 03:46:08 AM »
To use the Napoleon Dynamite response:
"Whenever you frickin' feel like it!  Gosh!"
VeezCon products:  Not as good as if they had been actually produced by a real figure company, but better than using your shoe to proxy with...sort of!

Offline Catinator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2006, 04:20:54 AM »
Well if the individual is allowed by the army structure you should be able to field it but it is good manner to ask the opponent and no clones should running around...  ;D

       Greetings,

                               Catinator

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2006, 05:47:04 AM »
An Ind. named or not is exactly that an Ind. you dont need your opponents permission to use them all you need to do is follow whats in the rule book under each Ind. it will say 1 per squad or 1 per army, etc thats the only rules you have to follow other the rule that you can only have 1 Ind per Grunt/Elite squad.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline The_Collector

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2006, 08:23:02 PM »
Ok, thank you!!

Major Kowalski, here I come :P
Exitus Acta Probat

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2006, 11:25:04 PM »
If you're coming from 40k I understand that you're asking since you cannot take them freely there.

I never understood why they had that rule. The personalities there are often the best and coolest sculpts so why make it harder for people to use them? ???

Offline Dr. Nick

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
  • Karma: +48/-16
Re: Named Inidividuals, when can I take them?
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2006, 01:36:32 AM »
everyone uses the figs as "normal" chars.

they just tend to be overpowered/special that they would unbalance a normal "balanced" game, at least thats the idea...

most may be not so strong in reallity, but for example at WHFB there are 1000 P chars... (2000 -2500 is a normal game)

thats why..
"Donīt anticipate outcome. Await the unfolding of events. Remain in the moment."