Author Topic: Devout Questions?  (Read 33070 times)

Offline DogOWar

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
  • Karma: +35/-0
Devout Questions?
« on: August 26, 2006, 09:19:43 PM »
I was reading thru the second edition today, I was putting together an army list when I came across a couple of things that I'm not sure about.

1. What damage does a Jackal Clan Scout's claw spike do?  I could not find the weapon listed.

2. Do Risen warbands require a necromancer to spend an action to concentrate to control them?  Do they require a necromancer in order to be used in an army?
Its not the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog!

ebay "handle": irishdog143

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2006, 05:03:53 AM »
I was reading thru the second edition today, I was putting together an army list when I came across a couple of things that I'm not sure about.
1. What damage does a Jackal Clan Scout's claw spike do?  I could not find the weapon listed.
I can't find it either, nor can I find my FAQ. Can anyone who has the FAQ check.
Quote
2. Do Risen warbands require a necromancer to spend an action to concentrate to control them?  Do they require a necromancer in order to be used in an army?
No and No. They do get better with a Necromancer around who can cast all sorts of spells on them.

Offline DogOWar

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2006, 07:25:08 AM »
     Thanks Coil, I appreciate the info, it ws starting to bug me.  Stay tuned, I'm sure I'll have more questions for everyone.
Its not the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog!

ebay "handle": irishdog143

Offline Kratach

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-1
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2006, 05:51:45 PM »
1. What damage does a Jackal Clan Scout's claw spike do?  I could not find the weapon listed.

I can't find the 2nd edition stat in the FAQ. For what it's worth in 1st ed the claw spike and elbow spike both had Dam of 6.
It IS as bad as you think it is and they ARE out to get you!!!

Offline DogOWar

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2006, 06:36:43 AM »
     O.K. I have a new question.  Does the Vortex spell for Warped Lords require you to spend an action every turn to maintain or does it not?
    Oh, by the way, does anybody use the ole' Warped Lord anymore?  I have seen a few army lists for the Devout on the net but it looks like he has sort of fallen by the wayside.  I have never played against Devout, but am putting together an army, and just curious.  I am hoping some of you who play(against?) Devout could recommend a good force mix? I have my own ideas but could always use advise on what works and what just sounds cool.
   
Its not the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog!

ebay "handle": irishdog143

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2006, 09:58:46 AM »
The Vortex is FUN!  If you successfully cast it, the template is on the table.  You have no control over it.  It deviates (per the deviation rules) before you roll initiative each round.  I've seen it wipe out my opponents, and I've seen it wipe out my own forces!  Very fun spell for a very fun game.  Hope that helps.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline DogOWar

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2006, 10:12:17 AM »
      Yeah it sounds whacky, but what I wanted to know is if you have to spend a activation to maintain( I assume not) it like some other spells or once it is cast if it is there til it either moves off table or game ends.
Its not the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog!

ebay "handle": irishdog143

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2006, 11:20:02 AM »
I could have been clearer.  The answer is no, you don't have to spend an action to maintain it, precisely because it's not in your control like a summoned monster/elemental, etc.  Just remember it deviates each time you roll initiative until it hits solid terrain and stops, or goes off the board.  Depending on the deviation, it could be on the board the whole game.  Also, be careful you don't catch your own troops, although that is half the fun!
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline DogOWar

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2006, 08:25:43 PM »
      Thats what I thought but wanted to be sure, thanks
Its not the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog!

ebay "handle": irishdog143

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2006, 10:24:18 PM »
1. What damage does a Jackal Clan Scout's claw spike do?  I could not find the weapon listed.

The Elbow Spike has a Damage of Strength + 2 and the Claw Spikes do Strength +1 (x2) Damage
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2006, 12:52:24 PM »
I was wondering about the claw spike damage too.  Thanks.  Out of curiousity, where did you find that info?
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Anomander_Rake

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Fortune favours the brave
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2006, 09:26:11 PM »
I was once clarified by Thom and Coki has it on his page.... ;D
It's better to be silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2006, 12:49:03 PM »
Thom couldn't remember when I asked him.  I break his balls all the time about his memory on his own game rules and mechanics. 
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline DogOWar

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
  • Karma: +35/-0
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2006, 07:28:38 PM »
     I was wondering how the Jackal Clan Scout does his attacks.  If he is in CC does he get the claw/elbow, claw/elbow, or just claw /claw.  I know the first claw has no modifier but assume the elbow spike(if he gets one) has the standard Secondary attack modifier (-4).  Does he only get the elbow spikes from behind?
Its not the dog in the fight, its the fight in the dog!

ebay "handle": irishdog143

Offline wmeredith

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 560
  • Karma: +47/-1
  • Ebay sig. 9390william.
Re: Devout Questions?
« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2006, 09:44:15 PM »
Hello.

If his profile states secondary attack then yes he does. I believe Joshua slater plays him as such.

wmeredith.
Wise men say absolute power corrupts absolutely I am not a wise man.