Author Topic: LOS  (Read 4918 times)

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: LOS
« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2006, 08:23:41 AM »
Your making this difficult simply put if you can see it you can shoot it. If you are not in B to B contact with terrain that is considered hard cover but are within 4 inches of it it is considered that LOS is obscured for a -1 to RC.  The paragraph on pg 32 1.3 LOS  when talking about B to B contact with major portions covered is reffering to models that have arms , weapons, equip that because of posing sticks out from behind the cover.  This is when LOS is blocked do to posing .
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: LOS
« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2006, 09:35:47 AM »
Ok...
so...
If i consider a standard model stance (no arms or things sticking out), if I can see at least one of head-shoulders-torso-legs I can always hit it, even if it's in base contact with terrain?

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: LOS
« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2006, 09:59:02 AM »
Example  ;D




the grunt is in base contact
the specialist isn't in base contact
the specialist can see the grunt's head and can point a gun at him
the grunt can see the specialist (can he shoot at him though?)

soo...
grunt can shoot at specialist with -1
specialist can shoot at grunt with -3
?
the grunt can use one action to break LOS (and another to go back to LOS) [without actually moving the miniature, like doing MP to dick dance]? in that case, what if the owner of the grunt didn't declare what he was doing with the grunt (break LOS or not) and it's the specialist's turn now [new turn, specialist won the activation]?

Offline Stalker

  • FAQ Team
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 510
  • Karma: +26/-1
  • Mid-west Crusader / FAQ team member
Re: LOS
« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2006, 10:34:20 AM »
In the example provided, if I was moderating the game I would not allow a shot.  There is not enough of the model exposed to allow it.  I was the one who mentioned the 50% and 75% rule as a general guideline because this is what I have used before when moderating national tourneys.  Ultimately this comes down to good sportsmanship as every model is different and the ruling has to be subjective.  If you and your opponent can not agree then just role the peacemaker.

Also, I do not like or ever thought about using the "state whether your model can be seen or not".  Either there is proper cover to break LOS or there isn't.  But, I will state that I (and the rest of my group) do use the MP behind cover = out of LOS.  This rule was stated to me directly by Thom at a Convention before running the tourney.  This rule was to eliminate arguments over cover and MP bonuses stacking.  At first I must admit that I hated the ruling because it completely changed the  feel and tactics of the game.  Now that I am used to it I think that it adds another element and makes the game even more strategic.

I hope this clarifies some issues for you.
If you shoot for the moon and miss, you are still among the stars.

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: LOS
« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2006, 10:35:29 AM »
other feedback on this? just to understand if this is the common rule...