Author Topic: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus  (Read 18967 times)

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« on: March 27, 2006, 06:26:27 AM »
If vehicle moves, there is no +3 RC bonus.
What about a skimmer that:
moves 1, reserves 1 wait action
moves 1, reserves 1 wait action
does not move, shoots 3 times.
a) Do all 3 rolls have +3 RC or only the first one?

What about:
moves 1, reserves 1 wait action
moves 1, reserves 1 wait action
moves 1, shoots 1 time.
Then, during enemy unit activation, shoots twice.
b) What happens here?

ORCAs:
c) is the -3 RC penalty for instability for the HI HMG to be applied only if the ORCA moved during that activation?


Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2006, 11:55:26 AM »
ya know...

i dunno.  I'll have to ask about A+B.

C.  If the Orca does not move there is no penalty.  It is a glorified Bunker.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2006, 12:18:32 PM »
As far as I know in case A your 3rd shot would be at +3 but could not use wait to shoot for 2 more times. Wait actions are used to react to enemy actions, also I have never played were some used wait,wait,shoot generally its shoot,wait,wait. In case B if waiit,wait,shoot is legal you would come off wait with no bonus.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2006, 12:46:56 PM »
Thanks for all your answers PFC Joe, you really are the best! :D
I couldn't do without you!
+1

When you get an answer on A) and B) please let me know.

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2006, 03:20:47 PM »
I believe Dragon to be on the right course, but i'm not 100% let me check around as best I can.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2006, 03:36:25 PM »
well, i'm sure wait, wait, shoot is legal as it's the example on page 92 for the strike skimmer!

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2006, 05:38:41 PM »
On page 44 under  Wait  When a model is on wait, it is considered to be watching and waiting, ready to react to an enemy's activity.  So a Model with ambush can reserve 2 wait actions, but the wait actions have to be used in reaction to an enemy action.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2006, 07:04:01 PM »
Wait actions do not require an enemy action.  you can pop a wait at any time.  You can not ignore tac sense though.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline jjdodger

  • Board Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +16/-0
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2006, 09:59:06 PM »
Also, with the strike skimmer, the gunner has "Ambush", hense able to reserve 2 actions. With the Orca's, they do NOT have ambush, thus can only reserve 1 action.

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #9 on: March 27, 2006, 11:50:00 PM »
You can not ignore tac sense though.
you mean you can't use tac-sense from wait.. ?

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2006, 12:42:11 AM »
unless specially mentioned you can't use most SA's from wait.

Especially when shooting, you have to target the closest of the closest.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2006, 02:52:17 PM »
PFCjoe I checked the FAQ's and the rulebook and all I can find is Page 44 (6.2.10-Wait) and it says a wait can only be used to react to an enemy action.(short version) Otherwise I could have a 10 man grunt squad that's on wait also activate during 1 of my other squads activation result 2 squads firing at the same time without a give orders action. Thats why waits are used during a enemy's action.  If I over looked something i 'am sorry but that's always been the way we've used wait actions.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2006, 05:02:11 PM »
that is almost exactly how Wait is supposed to be played out.

It is hardly circumventing G.O.s, given that most LD's hover between 10~13 (50%-65% chance of successfully coming off wait) half the squad would fail to fire and of those its roughly half to less that would hit. 

I'm tryin to find the post but Thom said that an action isn't required to come off wait, you just need something to do with the wait.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2006, 02:35:35 PM »
Thanks for all your answers PFC Joe, you really are the best! :D
I couldn't do without you!
+1

When you get an answer on A) and B) please let me know.
Any update on this, PFC Joe?
Thanks, Chribu

Offline Stalker

  • FAQ Team
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 510
  • Karma: +26/-1
  • Mid-west Crusader / FAQ team member
Re: WAIT and vehicle +3 bonus
« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2006, 11:09:50 PM »
The original question referencing the Skimmer is moot because the +3 RC bonus only applies to single crewed vehicles and the Skimmer is a multi-crewed vehicle.

On the notion of wait - I will back Joe on the statement that you do not need to react.  This was an older edition ruling.  In UWZ, you can use your wait at anytime before the unit activates again (thus loosing the held initiative) as long as you do not interrupt a die roll.
If you shoot for the moon and miss, you are still among the stars.