Author Topic: Macemen DEF modifier  (Read 1008 times)

Offline Pueblic

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Macemen DEF modifier
« on: May 08, 2016, 11:32:45 AM »
In the 2nd edition book Firstborn macemen have a DEF of -1 and swordmen one of -2. In the page 7 of this topic http://forum54.oli.us/index.php/topic,7291.90.html it's said that their DEF should be -2. I've looked at the FAQ and there no is amendment to their profile. What's the correct value and where is stated in case of being -2?

Offline DARNIZHAAN

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • Castle Triskelion
Re: Macemen DEF modifier
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2016, 04:25:01 PM »
Firstborn aren't really my bag.  You got me there.  I'll take a look see tomorrow if no one else answers you b4 me.

Offline DARNIZHAAN

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • Castle Triskelion
Re: Macemen DEF modifier
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2016, 12:35:52 PM »
All I see is a DEF -1 in the rulebook for joe average firstborn maceman.  You can see the leader has -2.

Offline Pueblic

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Macemen DEF modifier
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2016, 04:18:32 AM »
Well, John Boyd said DEF should be -2 in that topic and I ask why. I play Firstborn and the idea of macemen with a DEF of -2 is nice to me but I need the source of this possibility because, as you have said, in the book they have -1.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3661
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Macemen DEF modifier
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2016, 01:06:12 PM »
I will check on this.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3661
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Macemen DEF modifier
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2016, 05:30:19 AM »
-2 for the leader.  -1 for the trooper.  0 for the Great Maceman and Standard Bearer. 
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Jr_Boyd

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 317
  • Karma: +40/-0
Re: Macemen DEF modifier
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2016, 03:10:55 PM »
I reread what I wrote, I was trying to figure out shields for my cards for defensive modifier against missile Fire from the front. I think what confused me was some models have a 0 defensive modifier and have a shield. The shield modifier only counted from the front. So in this example with a defensive modifier of 0 someone shooting from behind them would get a +1 to account for a lack of a shield. I also did not realize the defensive modifier took other things into account like CC and armor the guys must have used some sort of bell curve.