1 - Leave the counter; it represents a mined area.
2 - Per the rules, you may use an Individual's LD if they are within the requisite distance of the affected model(s) and meet other necessary requirements (LOS, unit ype, etc.).
3 - The Starshell is an exception; it may fire without regard to the Night/Darkness rules.
4 - Simply put, it is not an F.O.. It is a team member, only. It cannot call in off-board artillery, or use any other ability that would be afforded to an F.O.
5 - Night rules are, indeed, restrictive. Try getting closer, using weapons with good SR/PB capabilities, CC, etc. If one knows - ahead of time - that it is going to be a night fight, preparation becomes just as important as firepower.