Author Topic: Mortar Crewmen  (Read 10667 times)

Pax

  • Guest
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2009, 10:42:41 PM »
F.O would be the ones that got the Forward Observer Ability yes? If it's not written that the unit got this Special Ability then no would be my take on it. Mortars just fire at what they can visually see.

Only exception would be when a Communication Specialists is able to use their F.O ability to do Speculative fire which got it's own risk.

And only crew members are able to man the mortar, Gunner, Loader and Spotter. Once they are all dead the mortar can't be used anymore. Only the Spotter of Mortars got a note saying they are able to take a crewman place as gunner or loader.

Offline Lopis

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 511
  • Karma: +14/-1
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2009, 12:58:37 PM »

For example the Bauhaus Crewmen have RC 8. But the Mortar itself has RC 7. Who is firing it?


Just to bring that part of the question to attention again.
The Unholy carronade is FAQed that it is fired with the crewmens RC.
Why arenīt the others also firing their RC.
Or do all the mortar trained people just freak out if they have to fire a real shot that they loose 12,5% of their ability.....
Solus honor cladem avertat !

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #17 on: July 10, 2009, 03:27:13 PM »
Quote from: Enker link=topic=5889.msg45855#msg45855 date=

In the FAQ there is mentioned that you only can fire with the first action if you have all three crewmen.

But where is the third crewman? Nearly all Mortars just have two Crewmen listened.
Is there a hidden Crewman allready at the Mortar?

For example the Bauhaus Crewmen have RC 8. But the Mortar itself has RC 7. Who is firing it?
The hidden Crewman? If yes, how can I kill him without an Armorvalue?

Or is the Spotter the third Crewman? But then he has to stay in base contact with the Mortar which doesn't make sense.

The Spotter must remain in Command Distance of the mortar.  Other than that, he is, merely, the third (other) crew member.  The Spotter has no other Abilities, and is not a Forward Observer, and, therefore, cannot be used as such.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #18 on: July 11, 2009, 08:48:55 AM »
Quote from: Lopis link=topic=5889.msg45926#msg45926 date=
Quote from: Enker link=topic=5889.msg45855#msg45855 date=

For example the Bauhaus Crewmen have RC 8. But the Mortar itself has RC 7. Who is firing it?


Just to bring that part of the question to attention again.
The Unholy carronade is FAQed that it is fired with the crewmens RC.
Why arenīt the others also firing their RC.
Or do all the mortar trained people just freak out if they have to fire a real shot that they loose 12,5% of their ability.....

To my knowledge, it is always the model's RC that is used, unless, in the case of the Carronade, there is no crew left.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2011, 04:50:46 AM »
Quote from: Lopis link=topic=5889.msg45926#msg45926 date=
Quote from: Enker link=topic=5889.msg45855#msg45855 date=

For example the Bauhaus Crewmen have RC 8. But the Mortar itself has RC 7. Who is firing it?


Just to bring that part of the question to attention again.
The Unholy carronade is FAQed that it is fired with the crewmens RC.
Why aren´t the others also firing their RC.
Or do all the mortar trained people just freak out if they have to fire a real shot that they loose 12,5% of their ability.....

To my knowledge, it is always the model's RC that is used, unless, in the case of the Carronade, there is no crew left.

This has been answered.  Does it need further clarification?
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline Pollo

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2012, 11:59:05 AM »
Unfortunately, I still need a little clarification on this topic...

So, the FAQs state that a 3-men mortar can fire three times with three actions. But what about the Greymourn mortar, that has a crew of 2 members? Can it fire three times with three actions? And what about the Cybertronic Operation Overseer, that is a one-man mortar?

Thanks,

P

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2012, 03:35:46 PM »
The Op-Over is an Individual (not Support) and is not subject to multi-model crew rules.

The Greymourn are a team.  If a model is lost, then the team loses a Firing Action.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline Pollo

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #22 on: April 16, 2012, 05:37:04 PM »
The Op-Over is an Individual (not Support) and is not subject to multi-model crew rules.

Ok.

The Greymourn are a team.  If a model is lost, then the team loses a Firing Action.

This leads to two other questions:
1) can the Greymourn Gunner fire the weapon alone (but only twice a Turn) if the Loader is alive but not in base contact with it?
2) if only one crewman is alive, at which MV rate does it move carrying the weapon? 3 or 4?
I am asking because the Special Rules of the Greymourn say: "Crewmen must stay in base contact with each other to fire the weapon. The crewmen move as a unit, with each using an action to move the group the mortar's MV stat in inches" (Mortar's MV is 3,while Crewmen's MV is 4).
« Last Edit: April 16, 2012, 05:39:03 PM by Pollo »

Offline micmellon

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Karma: +21/-4
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2012, 01:12:45 AM »
I can answer at least the movement question. When ever you move the mortar you have to use the mortar movement value. The mortar is too bulky to move 4 inch.
If the crew does not touch the mortar they can move 4 inch. It is simular like the RC part of the mortar. I hope this helps.
It's just a flesh wound - Black Night

Offline Pollo

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2012, 02:07:06 AM »
I can answer at least the movement question. When ever you move the mortar you have to use the mortar movement value. The mortar is too bulky to move 4 inch.
If the crew does not touch the mortar they can move 4 inch. It is simular like the RC part of the mortar. I hope this helps.

Micmellon, their mortar is not a separate piece, and according to this thread: http://forum54.oli.us/index.php/topic,1553.0.html, they cannot drop the mortar. Therefore, I wonder why the crewmen have a different MV stat, and if that stat is ever usable.

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Mortar Crewmen
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2012, 02:22:25 AM »
This leads to two other questions:
1) can the Greymourn Gunner fire the weapon alone (but only twice a Turn) if the Loader is alive but not in base contact with it?

Any written rule supercedes clarifications unless otherwise corrected in the FAQ.  Therefore, no, the weapon may not be fired.  It is not the same as losing the model and having to load and fire the weapon, singularly.

2) if only one crewman is alive, at which MV rate does it move carrying the weapon? 3 or 4?
I am asking because the Special Rules of the Greymourn say: "Crewmen must stay in base contact with each other to fire the weapon. The crewmen move as a unit, with each using an action to move the group the mortar's MV stat in inches" (Mortar's MV is 3,while Crewmen's MV is 4).

It is the mortar's MV stat which is used.  Therefore, the model firing the mortar is limited to MV: 3.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!