Author Topic: Critical/fumble for AR roll?  (Read 2174 times)

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Critical/fumble for AR roll?
« on: February 10, 2006, 03:42:30 PM »
I don't remember if there's a critical/fumble for AR rolls.
i.e.

Mephisto Sniper Rifle (DM 15) with a critical to-hit roll: DM=19.
Vs. a K-9 Unit-Dog (AR 15)
Will he save himself rolling a "1"?

Iron Bolas (DM 7)
Vs. Horde Defiler Pod (AR 28)
Is the Defiler Pod wounded with a "20", or he doesn't need to roll?

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Critical/fumble for AR roll?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2006, 03:45:45 PM »
there is no critical penalty for a 20 on an armor roll.

A one always succeeds, so a one will always save.  ( i think )

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Critical/fumble for AR roll?
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2006, 05:00:58 AM »
PFC joe I think the answer chribu is looking for to the 2nd question is not if there is a penalty but does an armor save have to be made and is a 20 an auto failure. I cant find it in the book or FAQ's myself but I was under the impression that a 20 always failed just as a 1 always succeeds. I have been wrong before though.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Critical/fumble for AR roll?
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2006, 05:13:12 AM »
for armor rolls there is no fumble (pg 50), so a roll of a 20 just means you'd better have some darn high armor or be fighting the breeze.  Where as a 1 always saves (pg 50) due to modified armor value never being reduced below 1.

If an attack can't actually damage the target then it can't damage it, there is no need to roll.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Critical/fumble for AR roll?
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2006, 09:13:35 AM »
ok, thanks!  :)

Offline Stalker

  • FAQ Team
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 510
  • Karma: +26/-1
  • Mid-west Crusader / FAQ team member
Re: Critical/fumble for AR roll?
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2006, 09:31:09 AM »

If an attack can't actually damage the target then it can't damage it, there is no need to roll.

-PFC joe

Yep.
If you shoot for the moon and miss, you are still among the stars.