Author Topic: Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?  (Read 2270 times)

Offline Murk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?
« on: February 04, 2010, 02:00:48 PM »
Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model whom i has no line of sight to?

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 05:52:06 PM »
Yes on page 54 1st edition rulebook, but you get no charge bonus and your opponent gets a free attack before you.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 05:56:39 PM »
Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model whom i has no line of sight to?

Which Edition?
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2010, 07:16:49 AM »
He's asking about 1st edition.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2010, 04:46:16 PM »
Then, Dragon62 is your expert.  I am wholly unfamiliar with the first edition, and only played second edition for a few months before Ultimate Warzone was released.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline Raga

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2010, 02:53:04 PM »
You cannot teleport into close combat with a hidden figure, because you cannot attack a hidden figure.
You can teleport into cc with a figure that is not hidden, but you don't need to have LOS to the target.

There was a constant problem with CC and hideden figures so we made a homerule:
- Attacker (not hidden) moves through Defender (not hidden) - charge
- Attacker (hidden) moves through Defender (not hidden) - sneak attack
- Attacker (not hidden) moves through Defender (hidden) - defenter can choose to let him through or make a sneak attack (if was waiting 2 attacks)
- Attacker (hidden) moves through Defender (hidden) - they pass through not konowing about themselves

When Attacker moves through defender and they do not initiate combat they must end their move without touching their bases.


« Last Edit: August 17, 2010, 05:30:06 AM by Raga »
Let us drink to the power drink to the sound
Thunder and metal are shaking the ground
Drink to your brothers who are never to fall
We're brothers of metal here in the hall

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2010, 09:23:48 AM »
Raga please inlude page numbers when quoting rules. Also it clearly states on page 54 that you can attack hidden models, and you can teleport into base contact with a hidden model. Please show me by page number where it says you cant. thanks Phil
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline Raga

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Can a deathbringer teleport into combat with a hidden model?
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2010, 11:55:29 AM »
Here you go.
Dawn of War - page 10
New Close Combat Rules - Paragraph: Charging Hidden Models
Let us drink to the power drink to the sound
Thunder and metal are shaking the ground
Drink to your brothers who are never to fall
We're brothers of metal here in the hall