Author Topic: Specialist Per Squad Rule  (Read 3567 times)

Iron Panda

  • Guest
Specialist Per Squad Rule
« on: January 26, 2006, 06:35:55 AM »
Can anyone clarify about the specialist per squad rule? Say, a grunt squad has a minimum of  4 (or 6) models, then it can have one specialist? How about if it has a maximum of 8 models (or 12) then one specialist is included or two?

I've been perusing through the book and for the most part, one specialist is included per squad, but Bauhaus units have 2! So in a minimum of 4 or 6 squads, they can have 2 HMGs or 2 snipers.  Is this a typo?  In a maxed unit they can have 4 HMGs or 4 snipers! That's a lot of firepower!

Well, maybe I'm reading it wrong.

Thanks for the help!


Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2006, 07:35:18 AM »
1. Grunt Squads are 1 Spec per every 4 non-spec troopers.

2. Elite Squads are 1 Spec per every 3 non-spec troopers.

So, with squads that have multiple Specs available, you must have 4 troopers for each specialist, or 3 per with elites.

In order to get the 2 HMG's, or 2 Snipers, or 1 each, you must have 8 troops (6 for elites), to get 2 specs.

Hope this helps.

Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline Gallagher_Standard_Barer

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +17/-1
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2006, 10:10:16 AM »
If a troop type is listed as "Required 4-12" that number is just the troopers not there sergeant or any specialists you might have.  So you can have a squad of Regulars that has 12 Regulars, 1 Sergeant, 1 Medic, 1 HMG, and 1 Rocket Launcher, for a total squad size of 16 models.

Also most specialists are limited in the number you can have in any given squad.  The Trencher Sniper for example says "Optional 1 per squad" meaning that no matter how many specialist slots you have available in your Trencher squad only 1 may be a Trencher Sniper.  So your example of 4 Snipers or 4 HMGs usually won't be possible since you will be limited to fewer than 4 of any one particular specialist.

The last bit to think about is that the sergeant counts when detirmining the number of specialists you are allowed.  For instance in a grunt squad with 7 Troopers and a Sergeant you are allowed 2 specialists, since (Troopers+Sgt)/4=2, same would be true in an elite squad with 5 troopers and a sergeant..  Hope that helps.

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2006, 10:58:20 AM »
Great explanation Gallagher! +1!

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2006, 11:54:53 AM »
Wow.  Spot on Gallagher.   

(thats what i get for sleeping in =P )

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2006, 12:31:34 PM »
Wow.  Spot on Gallagher.   

(thats what i get for sleeping in =P )

-PFC joe

We still love you Joe, even if you fail to answer one question first. Don't let it happen again though ;)

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2006, 01:20:41 PM »
yes Ma'am!

-Salutes-

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2006, 01:21:07 PM »
yes Ma'am!

-Salutes-

-

erm... maybe I didn't sleep in long enough ...
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Iron Panda

  • Guest
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2006, 08:07:26 PM »
Okay, I still have issues to work out and I do apologize for being thick-headed. For example, I have a unit of 4 necromutants, so I can add 1 tormentor.  If I increase the squad size to 8, it would still be one tormentor as per squad rules. So, this would then be 8 Necromutants and 1 tormentor specialist? 

How about a Bauhaus Hussar Squad?  It lists that an HMG specialists can have up to 2 per squad.  So a squad of 4 can have 2 HMGs and if increased to 8 models per squad, it would still be 2 HMGs for a total of 8 Hussars and 2 HMGS?

Thanks again for clarifying.

Offline Sylvas

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 819
  • Karma: +23/-0
  • Midwest Crusader
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2006, 08:18:13 PM »
no...

if you ahve a squad of 4 Hussars and 1 Sergeant, you can have 1 HMG...if you increase the number of Hussars by 3 (7 Hussars and 1 Sarge), you can add a 2nd HMG...

B.
took a long time for me to figure this out...
eBay name: sylvas1970

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Specialist Per Squad Rule
« Reply #10 on: January 26, 2006, 08:58:10 PM »
in a grunt squad, for every four non-specialists you may have one specialist.

Required Squad leaders count as non-specialists.

In order to have two specialists you must have eight non-specialists.

In an Elite squad you must have three non-specialists for each one specialist.



i.e.  Seven Heavy Infantry + one HI Squad Leader + one HI Sniper + HI HMG

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum