Author Topic: Orca - need clarification again - yes it is a dead horse  (Read 6314 times)

Offline micmellon

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Karma: +21/-4
Re: Orca - need clarification again - yes it is a dead horse
« Reply #15 on: September 03, 2009, 10:05:11 PM »
Ok. It is no minor SA, but I don't see so far an answer if the models have to spend actions to join together in the case they are from different squads.

To leave one action. To join?

In my opinion the squads were the specialist can leave because of the FF are not so more deadly than other ones. At least no match winner.
It's just a flesh wound - Black Night

Offline luckyone

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2249
  • Karma: +40/-0
Re: Orca - need clarification again - yes it is a dead horse
« Reply #16 on: September 04, 2009, 05:35:57 AM »
Two points in agreement with everyone:

2 actions are needed IMHO for the HMG gunner to disembark. This is due to the fact that he can shoot the weapon from the Orca. It is locked in, I assume, a mount on top of the Orca. It would take one action to undue these locks and one to disembark (normally) from the Orca.

As for the extra activation not being a major plus, I would have to respectfully dissagree. I don't try to min/max my armies, but it seems with more activations and alternate activations you have the ability to pick/choose your battles and hold back your stronger units to be at better/closer ranges with little or no return fire (at least that turn). Having three extra activations (using three Orcas usually in my armies) helps greatly to achieve this. Not to mention 3 HMG's  wondering around helps alot also. They greatly protect the Orcas and surrounding units from enemies that are closing in. PB 3(x3) and SR 1(x2) with RC of 9 AR of 18 is nice.

Did I mention I love Orcas.

You can conceivably have 6 on the battle field with a 1000 pt army. Hmmm


To those that would get this - 8 ball in the corner pocket.


« Last Edit: September 04, 2009, 05:39:17 AM by luckyone »
Always look out for number one, but don't step in number two.
What do you mean Flash Gordon approaching? OPEN FIRE!
The entire Capitol Army.
Don't ever say anything but a 20 before rolling the dice.

Offline Archer

  • Board Member
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1676
  • Karma: +64/-2
  • Warzone General extrodinare based in Reading, PA
Re: Orca - need clarification again - yes it is a dead horse
« Reply #17 on: September 04, 2009, 07:45:26 AM »
Ok. It is no minor SA, but I don't see so far an answer if the models have to spend actions to join together in the case they are from different squads.

To leave one action. To join?

In my opinion the squads were the specialist can leave because of the FF are not so more deadly than other ones. At least no match winner.


for the Non-Orca gunners.... I would say one of the models has to use an action to join up with another FF model to create a mini-squad.  For the Orcas, if all the gunners use their FF action in a dismount, I see Zero issue with them forming as unit in that turn (ie: same turn they hop off they create a three man unit if there are three gunners)

I can do the research on this if need be but I don't think I am wrong in my feeling.
John "Archer" Tinney

"Ready?"
"Why do your people always ask if someone is ready, just before you do something massively unwise?"
"Tradition."

- Jeffrey Sinclair and Delenn, Babylon 5: "War Without End, Part One" y

Offline luckyone

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2249
  • Karma: +40/-0
Re: Orca - need clarification again - yes it is a dead horse
« Reply #18 on: September 04, 2009, 08:20:19 AM »
Ok. It is no minor SA, but I don't see so far an answer if the models have to spend actions to join together in the case they are from different squads.

To leave one action. To join?

In my opinion the squads were the specialist can leave because of the FF are not so more deadly than other ones. At least no match winner.


for the Non-Orca gunners.... I would say one of the models has to use an action to join up with another FF model to create a mini-squad.  For the Orcas, if all the gunners use their FF action in a dismount, I see Zero issue with them forming as unit in that turn (ie: same turn they hop off they create a three man unit if there are three gunners)

I can do the research on this if need be but I don't think I am wrong in my feeling.

As long as this is communicated to and approved by your opponent. I don't think the rules or FAQ cover this currently.
Always look out for number one, but don't step in number two.
What do you mean Flash Gordon approaching? OPEN FIRE!
The entire Capitol Army.
Don't ever say anything but a 20 before rolling the dice.

Offline Archer

  • Board Member
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1676
  • Karma: +64/-2
  • Warzone General extrodinare based in Reading, PA
Re: Orca - need clarification again - yes it is a dead horse
« Reply #19 on: September 04, 2009, 10:43:07 AM »

As long as this is communicated to and approved by your opponent. I don't think the rules or FAQ cover this currently.


Tim,

  As one of your opponents, if you want to do such an act, I obviously have no objection.
John "Archer" Tinney

"Ready?"
"Why do your people always ask if someone is ready, just before you do something massively unwise?"
"Tradition."

- Jeffrey Sinclair and Delenn, Babylon 5: "War Without End, Part One" y

Offline luckyone

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2249
  • Karma: +40/-0
Re: Orca - need clarification again - yes it is a dead horse
« Reply #20 on: September 04, 2009, 11:21:13 AM »

As long as this is communicated to and approved by your opponent. I don't think the rules or FAQ cover this currently.


Tim,

  As one of your opponents, if you want to do such an act, I obviously have no objection.

Thanks Archer. Would like to play again soon. (off topic)

Back on. Having 2-3 HMG's act as a unit has advantages also. Imagine 2x or 3x   3(x3) or  2x or 3x 1(x2) coming at you.
Always look out for number one, but don't step in number two.
What do you mean Flash Gordon approaching? OPEN FIRE!
The entire Capitol Army.
Don't ever say anything but a 20 before rolling the dice.

Offline Seamus

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 240
  • Karma: +31/-0
    • Branch Incentives
Re: Orca - need clarification again - yes it is a dead horse
« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2009, 01:44:55 PM »
I've always played that it takes it an action also.  I love this ability and have used it with both the capitol orcas and my Imperial wolfpack.  Several times, I have had several squads of wolfbanes where the HMG's FF with each other then an individual commander either takes command of the squad or is positioned so that two or more squads of two HMG's are within his command radius.  In the latter case, the ability to give orders is a great boon.

I would have to say the extra activations are definitely a plus.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2009, 01:52:14 PM by Seamus »
Seamus Muadhen
eBay: branchenterprisesinternational
email: dkidd23 AT yahoo DOT com

There is no security on this earth, there is only opportunity.
General Douglas MacArthur
US WWII general & war hero (1880 - 1964)