Author Topic: Indirect fire question  (Read 1570 times)

Offline Twinky

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +3/-0
Indirect fire question
« on: August 16, 2009, 01:36:34 AM »
Hi,

I have questions about speculative fire. I have searched the forum for answers, but didn't found any. Here is my problem :

It is said in the rules and the various FAQs that a Forward observer with LOS to the target is needed to perform a speculative fire. It is very simple when the FO activates a unit with speculative fire purpose (for example a mortar team). However, what happens when a FO "activates" an unit with only one specialist using indirect fire (a sergent with UBGL for example) : does the full unit is activated , meaning that actions of the other models of the unit are wasted ? What happens with a full squad with indirect weapons (like pathfinders) : does every model in the squad can fire for each command action from the FO ?

Another question : it is written page 57 of the UWZ rulebook that because "there are no friendly model within mortar squad command distance who can relay the information to the model firing the mortar", a Forward observer is needed. Does that imply that a non-FO model within command distance could be used as FO specifically for purpose of indirect fire ? I've never found that rule written in the rulebook...  Is that a typo or an actual rule ? It would make indirect fire more useful.

Thanks for your answers.

Twinky

Offline Enker

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 210
  • Karma: +16/-1
Re: Indirect fire question
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2009, 11:39:45 PM »
I think speculative fire with an FO is not possible for UBGLs or such weapons.
It is only possible for Fire Missions and Mortars or Mortar-like-Weapons.

Page 57
"The specialist provides information for fieldartillery Units, who may not have direct LOS to the enemy, such as rear-deployed mortars and other field artillery pieces."
and on the next page they are always talking about "Artillery Units".
Marines! Lets kick some A S S!

Offline Twinky

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: Indirect fire question
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2009, 01:33:22 PM »
On the contrary, page 54, speculative fire rule does state that all indirect fire weapons may fire without LOS. To accomplish this, it refers then to the fire mission rule and clearly states that a FO is needed...

So how is it solved ? Anyone ?

BTW, my example is wrong, as UBGL are direct fire weapon, but the problem remains if you consider some grenade launchers specialists (and of course the pathfinders...)
« Last Edit: August 17, 2009, 01:35:13 PM by Twinky »

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Indirect fire question
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2009, 01:57:38 PM »
First off, Twinky, welcome.  Great to see newbs!

I'll try to answers as best as I can, clarify what Enker has said, and see if we can make it all fit for you.

Quote from: Twinky link=topic=5969.msg46644#msg46644 date=
However, what happens when a FO "activates" an unit with only one specialist using indirect fire (a sergent with UBGL for example) : does the full unit is activated , meaning that actions of the other models of the unit are wasted ? What happens with a full squad with indirect weapons (like pathfinders) : does every model in the squad can fire for each command action from the FO ?

Unfortunately, the book is not clear on this issue.  When the Forward Observer (F.O.) activates, it uses Actions to attempt to communicate with the "artillery" unit (in your example, this could be a GL Spec within a squad).  If communication is made, the unit that is firing indirectly is, also, activated.  By the strictest interpretation of the rules, this would mean that the entire squad to which it belongs is, also, activated.  Obviously, this could lead to some serious abuse.  For example, I could activate my Dragoon Kaptain, who could, in turn, Give Orders (activate) the Dragoon squad which contains an F.O., who could, in turn, by the effect of Spotting for the GL Spec-equipped, activate said unit (hope that made sense).

I would highly recommend discussing this with those with whom you play, as I could see it being a flashpoint of disagreement in the heat of battle.

That said, I will seek greater clarification from the rest of the FAQ Team.

Quote from: Twinky link=topic=5969.msg46644#msg46644 date=
Another question : it is written page 57 of the UWZ rulebook that because "there are no friendly model within mortar squad command distance who can relay the information to the model firing the mortar", a Forward observer is needed. Does that imply that a non-FO model within command distance could be used as FO specifically for purpose of indirect fire ? I've never found that rule written in the rulebook...  Is that a typo or an actual rule ?

This refers to the models that comprise the mortar team.  In other words, of the three models within the team, if none may draw LOS to the target, then it may not fire speculatively.  If, however, a model with F.O. can draw LOS, then the mortar may attempt speculative fire using the rules as written.

This section does, unfortunately, insinuate that speculative fire is conducted differently.  Chalk it up to adding a bit of fluff to a description of how this would work as told in subjective fashion, not in a mechanical intructive.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!