Author Topic: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer  (Read 5578 times)

Offline luckyone

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2249
  • Karma: +40/-0
Re: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2011, 08:27:38 AM »
Got it. Forgot they had ambush. Makes them even better for indirect fire opportunities.

Always look out for number one, but don't step in number two.
What do you mean Flash Gordon approaching? OPEN FIRE!
The entire Capitol Army.
Don't ever say anything but a 20 before rolling the dice.

Offline Pollo

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer
« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2011, 05:28:14 AM »
This is a great way to use Forward Observers even in small armies, but I have a doubt.
The manual states that a Forward Observer can activate in the manner described by dmcgee1 "designated Artillery units". So, should we consider any Unit that includes one or more GL as an Artillery Unit?
I thought that, by definition, Artillery units were mortars, vehicles capable of Indirect Fire (none so far in UWZ), off-board cannons... and not units with portable grenade launchers.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2011, 05:30:21 AM by Pollo »

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer
« Reply #17 on: September 23, 2011, 03:30:44 PM »
Please, reference pp.53-54, Rule 9.3.2 - Indirect Fire Without LOS (Speculative).  Models with weapons capable of indirect fire use the same rules as for Fire Missions.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline Pollo

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2011, 12:40:34 PM »
Ok.
Now: assuming that a F.O. activates a GL specialist, what happens to the specialist's Unit comrades? Do they execute their actions immediately after the GL specialist has fired? Or may they be activated later, separately?

Offline luckyone

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2249
  • Karma: +40/-0
Re: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer
« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2011, 03:15:06 PM »
As I understood it the entire squad of Pathfinders activates and uses their actions (however amny the FO has left) per the rulebook.

Not official but that is how I read it.
Always look out for number one, but don't step in number two.
What do you mean Flash Gordon approaching? OPEN FIRE!
The entire Capitol Army.
Don't ever say anything but a 20 before rolling the dice.

Offline micmellon

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Karma: +21/-4
Re: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer
« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2011, 02:42:41 AM »
I think the question of Pollo is regarding squads with one or two grenade launcher specialists without form fireteam.

We play it the following way:

First the specialists and the forward observer will act together like it is mentioned the posts before.
Afterwards the rest of the squad will follow in the normal way. They have the full number of actions because the grenade launcher specialists are acting as one model. They act simultaneous with the forward observer and the rest of the squad will act in normal order afterwards.

In this way we follow the rule that the whole unit is actived after the forward observer like it is mentioned in the rule book.
It's just a flesh wound - Black Night

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer
« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2011, 02:55:59 AM »
According to the rulebook, the entire unit is marked activated upon the expenditure of all of the F.O.'s Actions; therefore, if the activated unit is not comprised entirely of models with indirect fire capability, the models without indirect fire are assumed to be "standing by" while the Speculative fire is performed.  If the models have Ambush, two Actions may be placed on Wait.  Otherwise, the only Action allowed by the models without indirect fire is to place an Action on Wait.

In other words, it is a decision that must be made by the player as to whether or not to commit the entire unit to the Fire Mission, or not.  The F.O. cannot Give Orders to the unit; it may only Spot for Speculative Fire.  The rest of the unit that is, subsequently, marked Activated is providing cover fire and awaiting the indirect fire-capable units to finish their "special action."
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline micmellon

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Karma: +21/-4
Re: Imperial Grey Ghost and Forward Observer
« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2011, 03:12:58 AM »
The way we play is more or less a house rule we agreed to. Our house rules will be tested and discussed from time to time. The post before was only our interpretation how we play it in the moment.
It's just a flesh wound - Black Night