Author Topic: Spell rules  (Read 2031 times)

Offline masherking

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • THE ALLATLOH of ROCK n' ROLLA
Spell rules
« on: June 08, 2009, 08:13:29 AM »
I read the rules for saves against spells is Modified by spell level.
does that rule apply always.

example: black elven spell:  Chasm is level 5 (I think): makes a big hole in the ground. it tells you to make a ld save. if LD is 10 your save is like 5 our less.....thats kinda of brutal.

I'm I reading this right?
Goddamn! its good to be the MasherKing.
home: New Jersey
E-bay: Johny_wonderful

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Spell rules
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 11:02:26 AM »
Wow!!  If you are right, I've been playing the game wrong for a very long time.  As far as I know, without the book at the office, the Power level of a spell is only against the Power of the caster.  A Chasm is 5, against the Lotus Eater's 15?, so the cast is a 10, or a 9 if the Power is 14.  You get the idea.

If saving is as difficult as you say, I'm'a load up on casters....

Steve, let me know what page you're on in the book so I can check late late late tonight and see.

Cheers.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline masherking

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • THE ALLATLOH of ROCK n' ROLLA
Re: Spell rules
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 11:28:19 AM »
Wow!!  If you are right, I've been playing the game wrong for a very long time.  As far as I know, without the book at the office, the Power level of a spell is only against the Power of the caster.  A Chasm is 5, against the Lotus Eater's 15?, so the cast is a 10, or a 9 if the Power is 14.  You get the idea.

If saving is as difficult as you say, I'm'a load up on casters....

Steve, let me know what page you're on in the book so I can check late late late tonight and see.

Cheers.

It came up in the last game.
I'll check it when I get home.
Goddamn! its good to be the MasherKing.
home: New Jersey
E-bay: Johny_wonderful

Offline Archer

  • Board Member
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1676
  • Karma: +64/-2
  • Warzone General extrodinare based in Reading, PA
Re: Spell rules
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 11:53:24 AM »
Chasm....

Power 5 so its PW - 5 to cast.

Save for targets is LD check or less only.
John "Archer" Tinney

"Ready?"
"Why do your people always ask if someone is ready, just before you do something massively unwise?"
"Tradition."

- Jeffrey Sinclair and Delenn, Babylon 5: "War Without End, Part One" y

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Spell rules
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 12:07:30 PM »
It does keep things simple.  As new stuff gets added in, I understand there will be abilities that will affect the LD save against certain effects.

Cheers.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA