Author Topic: Smoke & MP  (Read 5845 times)

Offline mchiao

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 240
  • Karma: +8/-2
Smoke & MP
« on: January 13, 2006, 07:30:21 AM »
Is smoke effect cumulative?  If I shoot thru 2 level 3 smoke templates am I at -3 RC or -6 RC?  If the target is MP, is that another -2 RC in addition to the smoke's penalty?

thanks

Offline WarlordtheFT

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2006, 09:40:09 AM »
No, you use the highest level of smoke as the modifier. IE if LOS goes through a level 2 anda level 3 smoke, the penalty is -3 NOT -5.
435th AI Assault Regiment "Disposable Heroes"
Cybertronic

Offline Gallagher_Standard_Barer

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +17/-1
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2006, 09:57:26 AM »
Warlord is right about the smoke, the highest penalty applies, not the cumulative total of all penalties.  As far as MP is concerned, my gut reaction is to say no they do not stack, but I don't have a hard and fast rule  to quote off the top of my head.  However, since MP does not stack with cover, I don't believe it will stack with smoke either since if it did it would be more difficult to hit a target behind level 3 smoke in MP than it would be to hit a target in hard cover, which doesn't seem right to me.  Anyone have an actual rule or page number to quote this gentleman?

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2006, 12:07:57 PM »
I believe that smoke stakes on top of MP and Cover.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2006, 03:15:45 PM »
Smoke stacks with cover.

Smoke affects the Attackers RC  while cover affects the Defenders erm.. defense.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Sylvas

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 819
  • Karma: +23/-0
  • Midwest Crusader
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2006, 06:44:45 PM »
I guess that the best expanation is that the smoke is an environmental effect and the MP is a cover effect?...

it sounds good at least...

B.
eBay name: sylvas1970

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2006, 05:28:41 AM »
yeah something like that, Smoke affects the shooter while Cover affects the defender.


-pfc joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Ruther

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 233
  • Karma: +15/-7
    • Warzone Deutschland
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2006, 06:59:36 AM »
Smoke is also the only Modifier that actual Stacks in UWZ (if i remember that clarification right thom made a good time ago).
He Who Laughs Last, Thinks Fastest

Offline cS

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-1
  • IMPERIAL Strikes back
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2006, 06:37:48 AM »
dont forget guerilla training.
IMPERIAL Strikes Back

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2006, 07:23:07 AM »
When shooting smoke grenades, target priorities must be accounted for? (i.e. have to shoot on enemy unit, cannot shoot on empty ground)

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2006, 09:32:20 AM »
You can target empty ground with smoke grenades.

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2006, 11:02:14 AM »
Uhm why can I target empty ground with smoke grenades, but not in any other case? (e.g. fire mission or normal grenades)

Offline Gallagher_Standard_Barer

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +17/-1
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2006, 12:13:28 PM »
Because smoke is a special munitions where the rules say you can.

From a more practical angle smoke would be much less useful (read: almost useless) if it followed normal targeting priority, whereas template weapons would become much more useful (Read: Too good) if you were allowed to target any point on the board, therefore a special consideration is made for smoke grenades.  If you weren't permitted to fire smoke grenades at empty space by the time you were in range of the enemy you would probably just be able to charge them that activation, thus eliminating the need for smoke to cover your advance.

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2006, 12:20:48 PM »
So that works for all special munitions?
Thanks :)

Offline Gallagher_Standard_Barer

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 260
  • Karma: +17/-1
Re: Smoke & MP
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2006, 12:25:58 PM »
No, just smoke.