Author Topic: Secondary attack  (Read 4813 times)

Offline darkbaxter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
Secondary attack
« on: November 22, 2005, 05:25:47 PM »
I know you can use your sec. attack ONLY in CC with penalty of 4.
But whenever i kill the foe before I use it may I shoot the closet enemy using RC? Are there any further penalties?

May I use sec. attack to fire RC or it is exclusivelly used for CC and the case mentioned above is the exception?

Offline Sylvas

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 819
  • Karma: +23/-0
  • Midwest Crusader
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2005, 07:57:53 PM »
don't think so...I think that secondary attack is used exclusively in CC for models that are armed with 2 CC weapons, like Mishima Bushido Samurai...

B.
eBay name: sylvas1970

Offline jjdodger

  • Board Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +16/-0
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2005, 08:22:02 PM »
The ruling is, if the primary attack kills a model in CC, it may use its other weapon in RC

Example: A mirror man has both a sword and  a MP, If he kills his opponent in CC, he may then fire the pistol in RC in the same action. HOWEVER: if he fails to kill the model with the 1st swing, he MUST use his pistol on his CC target, and cannot target another model.

Offline darkbaxter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2005, 11:53:15 PM »
I understand this..

But what about when killing my oponent with a first swing and I have 1 the sec. attack remaining.
May I use it for another attack action? I know this is played on official Polish championships that are organized in cooperation with EE.
However their rules are sometime quite baffling..

Cases
1)  There is another model in base contact - may I attack him with sec. weapon?

2) There is no other oponent in base contact, however there is a new enemy within 3 inches - may I charge him whith the sec. attack?

3) There is no other oponent in base contact, however there is a new enemy within 3 inches - may I shoot him with my MP? If so are there any further penalties?

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2005, 01:27:10 AM »
1. yes
 
2. no

3. yes, only the secondary attack penalties and any RC modifiers the weapon may have.
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Sylvas

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 819
  • Karma: +23/-0
  • Midwest Crusader
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2005, 08:01:03 AM »
The ruling is, if the primary attack kills a model in CC, it may use its other weapon in RC

didn't know this...is this rule in the urlebook or is it in the FAQ?...

B.
eBay name: sylvas1970

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2005, 08:50:13 AM »
It is in the book and has been FAQ'd
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline mchiao

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 240
  • Karma: +8/-2
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2006, 06:47:38 PM »
Does that mean I can shoot twice with my mirrormen in 1 action?  The 2nd shot will have a -4 RC .

thanks

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2006, 06:58:59 PM »
The first attack must be in CC.   If you kill all the models you are in CC with then you may make an RC attack at -4, provided that you used the Sword for their first attack.  Otherwise, if still in base to base contact, then you still make CC attacks.


-PFC joe
« Last Edit: February 08, 2006, 07:03:01 PM by PFC joe »
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline WarlordtheFT

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2006, 09:33:04 AM »
The first attack must be in CC.   If you kill all the models you are in CC with then you may make an RC attack at -4, provided that you used the Sword for their first attack.  Otherwise, if still in base to base contact, then you still make CC attacks.


-PFC joe

And the moral of the story is use the CC only weapons as the primary attack if you only have one model in base to base.
435th AI Assault Regiment "Disposable Heroes"
Cybertronic

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2006, 09:37:20 AM »
Generally speaking, it's not a bad idea to use the CC weapons first as they tend to be the more agressively suited weapon for CC.  Do remember, if you only have one weapon then you may use it twice.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Lopis

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 511
  • Karma: +14/-1
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2006, 04:53:20 AM »
Short question to help me up:

What restrictions do apply for the second attack?
What if the model has only the one weapon? second attack withe the same one? against a multi-wound opponent e.g.

What if more than one secondary weapon. The Bauhaus Johann Emigholz carries a MP105 and a dueling saber besides his Thermite Lance. Whgich is the priority? Charge withe the Lance--> natural attack of his mount--> and then? Saber again or MP105 ?

If the saber: Charge bonus or not ?
Solus honor cladem avertat !

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2006, 08:24:45 AM »
For Secondary attack
If you have two weapons you must use first one, then the other.  Usually the CC based one then pistol (if so equipped)
If only one weapon then you may attack twice with it.


First the Lance. as it's only  useful on a charge, then whichever weapon you prefer.  Usually the saber.  but it's really up to you.

Charge bonus only applies to the first attack (and the dino's first attack)(no the dino doesn't get secondary attack confered to it, you might just spend more than one action in CC with a target)

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline Lopis

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 511
  • Karma: +14/-1
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2006, 03:01:15 PM »
OK, just as I thought!

Sounds good and another opinion in the same direction is good.

THX
Solus honor cladem avertat !

Offline darkbaxter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: Secondary attack
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2006, 12:44:21 PM »
But what about Crucifiers??

They have 4 hands. Whenever i make primary CC attack with their weapon i may use the secondary, but there are two possible weapons: sword and/or MP - may i just pick one of them and perform the secondary attack?
(in case of secondary CC attack it is always better to use the sword)

..am i right...?