Author Topic: Charge?  (Read 1713 times)

Offline Toshiro

  • Journeyman
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • Czech Warzone
Charge?
« on: April 09, 2007, 02:13:45 AM »
I have a bunch of questions about charge. Any comments are welcome.

1) Do you have to charge using the straightest way?
2) Can you engage more than one model into charge (speculative moving from side - not the shortest way)?
3) Can you charge model behind corner? - Not in LOS at the start of movenent. Or do you have to move around the corner - stop the movement action. And charge as next action?

Rules are unclear about this. So we atre trying to make our Czech republic FAQ usable on out tournaments.
proposed rulings about charge are:
- You have to charge using the shortest trajectory
- You cant charge speculatively more than one model (you can charge more only if it is the shortest way or only possible way)
- You have to charge the closest model in LOS
- If during the charge movement appears closer model in LOS you have to change charge to that model
- You can change your move action to charge action when model in chargable distance appears in LOS during movement (exapmle: model behind corner)

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Charge?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 02:59:30 AM »
I have a bunch of questions about charge. Any comments are welcome.

1) Do you have to charge using the straightest way?

No.  Any movement that results in base-to-base contact (not, necessarily, in CC, as some weapons and/or models have reach) is considered a charge.  However, you may not charge a model arther away, if a closer model is in LOS.

2) Can you engage more than one model into charge (speculative moving from side - not the shortest way)?

A highly improbable situation, as you must engage the closest model.  Further, I can think of no situation where I would, actually, want to do that.

3) Can you charge model behind corner? - Not in LOS at the start of movenent. Or do you have to move around the corner - stop the movement action. And charge as next action?

See Question 1.


There are several rules that are ambiguous, and are unclear.  I admit, here, that my understanding may not be complete.

There are rules that come up that are, sometimes, forgotten.  Remember that a model may not pass between two enemy models, nor an enemy model and an obstacle unless there is a 4" (10cm) gap, unless the enemy model is already engaged in CC.

FAQ guys, feel free to correct me if I have gotten any of this wrong.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Offline Dr. Nick

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
  • Karma: +48/-16
Re: Charge?
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 05:37:28 AM »
Quote
2) Can you engage more than one model into charge (speculative moving from side - not the shortest way)?

A highly improbable situation, as you must engage the closest model.  Further, I can think of no situation where I would, actually, want to do that.

i would like to be in base contact with a CC spec if fighting against shooty CC weak guys.

charge 2 kill one, be still in cc -> no shooting at your CC guy. the grunts CC is much weaker than an AR, normally.
"Don´t anticipate outcome. Await the unfolding of events. Remain in the moment."

Wedge

  • Guest
Re: Charge?
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2007, 09:17:22 AM »
1) Do you have to charge using the straightest way?

Yes.  You must take the most direct path.

Quote
2) Can you engage more than one model into charge (speculative moving from side - not the shortest way)?

You may not charge more than one model with one charge action no matter how close the bases may be.  Even if by some miracle you are actually touching two bases you are still considered only charging one and must then move a nano-meter ;D to charge the next model.

Quote
3) Can you charge model behind corner? - Not in LOS at the start of movenent. Or do you have to move around the corner - stop the movement action. And charge as next action?

No.  You must have LOS to Charge.  So your example above is correct.  Move first to gain LOS and the charge with the next action.

Offline Sylvas

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 819
  • Karma: +23/-0
  • Midwest Crusader
Re: Charge?
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2007, 01:34:23 PM »
the only reason I could think that you would want to charge into 2 bases is if you had a CC weapon that had the sweep ability, but your initial attack (and therefore the bonuses for hitting) would only count for the first model engaged....so I guess technically you're still only charging one model...

B...
eBay name: sylvas1970