Author Topic: Leap, Wait, & Sweep  (Read 4054 times)

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3661
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« on: September 26, 2005, 08:18:50 AM »
Now that the question of Standing Fast against Leap has been resolved, I thought I'd post another in the same vein.

For our example, an Ogre Elite guard is on wait.  He's gettin' jumped by Styian.  First one leaps into base to base contact and twenties out.  Guard remains on wait.  Second Stygian leaps in and scores a hit.  Can the Ogre Elite now come off of wait to sweep these two lizards?  I thinkin' yes, because you can only sweep after you've entered combat, not on a charge.  And with the two Stygian being in base to base, that counts as combat to me.  Sound right to y'all?
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Steel Rabbit

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 162
  • Karma: +7/-2
  • Brotherhood Inquisitor
    • The Wargamer
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2005, 09:45:03 AM »
I'd say "yah". I mean, it doesn't state that being attacked brings you off wait (at least, I don't think it does. I'm at the college computer lab and don't have my book in front of me). That's a pretty sneaky trick...I like it.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3661
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2005, 10:18:52 AM »
I ain't goin' for sneaky Steel, but I got to thinkin' after my last Leap post and all.  I figure it gives a two or three wound model an option when facing those leapin' lizards.  The Talon Lord could really do well, killing two or three right off of wait, and then if you win initiative...

All this is comin' from some considerable time doin' things wrong, and I appreciate all the input from everyone on the forums.  Cheers.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2005, 10:45:35 AM »
You are correct Josh. The rules only state the the model "May choose to come off Wait to Countercharge an enemy model". Pg. 66

The scenario you described is completely legal and it does indeed give that Ogre, and other multi-wound models, a sound tactical option when facing multiple opponents.
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2005, 10:50:00 AM »
Exactly. The key word in both the Countercharge and Wait rule is may. It is a valid tactic which of course is risky if you get too greedy and wait too long and the sweeper gets killed.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3661
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2005, 11:12:14 AM »
@ Coil and Southpaw.  Thanks, I always count on you guys to make sure I'm up to speed.  I'm playing in the tourney at Southern Exposure this coming weekend, and I would like to know my options, and of course the rules.  Cheers. 
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2005, 07:13:01 PM »
More than happy to help, Josh.

Good luck!
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline T Prime

  • Big Kahuna, Chairman of the Board
  • Administrator
  • Member Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 6468
  • Karma: +75/-0
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2005, 06:00:28 PM »
Actually, Stygian warriors can't leap over an Ogre at all. The rest is mute.
Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc
Excelsior!!

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3661
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2005, 04:50:39 AM »
"The question is moot!"  I was referring to Stygian leaping into the Ogre, not over'em.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Anubis31

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: +13/-3
  • Exclesior Staff/Design
    • Excelsior Entertainment
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2005, 09:18:38 AM »
@ Josh,

Thom says..... "OPPS, My Bad."    ::)

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3661
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2005, 09:33:14 AM »
Tell that Excelsior janitor that he's got a lotta cleaning up to do, startin' with his grammar!  I've got my red pen ready to go.  Cheers.

All ball bustin' aside, I'm here to help the cause.  See you boys at the con.  And J.P.--bring some checkered bodybags....
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline T Prime

  • Big Kahuna, Chairman of the Board
  • Administrator
  • Member Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 6468
  • Karma: +75/-0
Re: Leap, Wait, & Sweep
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2005, 12:49:19 PM »
 >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Where is my voodoo doll.
Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc
Excelsior!!