Author Topic: Strike Skimmer  (Read 5998 times)

Offline fuko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-1
Strike Skimmer
« on: October 20, 2005, 04:41:16 AM »
Can Strike Kommandos jump of it? (leave it like in Purple Shark case?)If so, how is this resolved?

Offline PFC joe

  • Private First Class
  • Private First Class
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 874
  • Karma: +57/-2
  • assistance from a distance
    • PFC joe's After Action Reviews
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 07:02:45 AM »
Yes, the Strike Skimmer behaves like a Troop Transport in regards to the Kommandos, check the relative pages in the book for further info.

-PFC joe
Qui desiderat pacem pręparet bellum

Offline fuko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-1
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2005, 07:33:25 AM »
Thanks, but there aren't any rules in book for those commandos (in 2nd ed. there were), so the question is : how to treat those guys when they disembark (as individuals ?).

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2005, 08:42:44 AM »
At Dreamation January 2005 I believe it was stated that the strike commando's had to maintain command distance to the skimmer and that they did'nt become a seperate squad. This may have changed since then ,but that was the way they were used then.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline Sylvas

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 819
  • Karma: +23/-0
  • Midwest Crusader
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2005, 04:16:54 PM »
If it behaves like a troop transport, I woudl think that you could use the rules for disembarking from a vehicle and then you would have a squad of Strike Kommandos and the Skimmer.

If that is the case, it would be just like using the Fore Fireteam SA to split a Trencher HMG from the rest of the squad.

B...

or am I just totally off base here...my rulebook is in the car and it's cold and rainy tonight...
eBay name: sylvas1970

Offline T Prime

  • Big Kahuna, Chairman of the Board
  • Administrator
  • Member Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 6468
  • Karma: +75/-0
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2005, 10:43:06 AM »
The Strike Commandos are considered part of the vehicle while they ride on it (per normal rules involving transport vehicles). They may disembark (as per the rules) and when they do so they are considered a small squad. They must all disembark at the same activation of course. Ultimately the skimmer only hosts two commandos at a time in this manner.
Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc
Excelsior!!

Offline chribu

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
  • Karma: +19/-0
  • Keeping track of all the answers
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2006, 09:19:49 AM »
When they are onboard, can the strike kommandos be shot normally?

Offline Dragon62

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1893
  • Karma: +67/-0
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2006, 09:38:40 AM »
As Prime stated when onboard they are part of the Skimmer. So no you target the vehicle.
Define Irony-A bunch of idiots dancing around on a plane to a song made famous by a band that died in a plane crash.

Homebase-New Jersey
Ebay-Dragondrake69

Offline Veez

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2990
  • Karma: +159/-7
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2006, 12:30:17 PM »
In second edition they made great ablative armor. :-[
VeezCon products:  Not as good as if they had been actually produced by a real figure company, but better than using your shoe to proxy with...sort of!

Offline Lopis

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 511
  • Karma: +14/-1
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2009, 09:09:45 AM »
So, do I get it right that the Strike skimmer is a transport following the rules?
Or ist it a "special transport" only for the Strike Kommandos deployed with it ?
Solus honor cladem avertat !

Offline Lopis

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 511
  • Karma: +14/-1
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2009, 09:34:47 AM »
And the next....

Does a Purple Shark qualify also as a transport for his flight offiicer?
Can he disembark on purpose?
Solus honor cladem avertat !

Offline Veez

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2990
  • Karma: +159/-7
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2009, 09:41:42 AM »
I believe he cannot; he is a part of the crew.
VeezCon products:  Not as good as if they had been actually produced by a real figure company, but better than using your shoe to proxy with...sort of!

Offline jjdodger

  • Board Member
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +16/-0
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2009, 02:44:45 PM »
Oddly enough, the Flight Officer is the only crew member that cannot be "off-loaded", as the rest have Form Fireteam, though he IS a Division Commander. Does the ability to Join a squad, also enable it to Leave?

Offline Archer

  • Board Member
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1676
  • Karma: +64/-2
  • Warzone General extrodinare based in Reading, PA
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2009, 07:33:38 PM »
He is there to act as a commander for armies
.
I believe he can count towards off-board as he has the commander skill.
John "Archer" Tinney

"Ready?"
"Why do your people always ask if someone is ready, just before you do something massively unwise?"
"Tradition."

- Jeffrey Sinclair and Delenn, Babylon 5: "War Without End, Part One" y

Offline Enker

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 210
  • Karma: +16/-1
Re: Strike Skimmer
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2009, 11:26:08 PM »
And the next....

Does a Purple Shark qualify also as a transport for his flight offiicer?
Can he disembark on purpose?

I think he can leave the vehicle. why?
Rulebook page 181. "Special Rules: ...While on board..."
This rule applies while he is on board. So if he is not on board the rule does not apply.
So the Flight officer can go offboard.
For what would he be usefull if he cannot go offboard?
So I rather would ask if the form fireteam SA is missing here?
 
 
Marines! Lets kick some A S S!