Author Topic: Apocalypse and target priority?  (Read 4592 times)

Offline komplikator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Myself :)
Apocalypse and target priority?
« on: March 15, 2007, 05:40:49 AM »
Hi,

Apocalyse rules says: you may target any point on the battlefield. Must I obey target priority or not?
Example:
My oponent have two squards, first 10" away on left side, second 20" away on right side of table.. both in full LOS, can my nefarite target apocalypse to second squard or not?

Czech Warzone community

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2007, 06:39:51 AM »
Apocalypse specifically states "may target any point on the battlefield that is within Range". So this bypasses the normal targeting priority. Any point within 24" and LOS may be targeted.

SP
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline komplikator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Myself :)
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2007, 07:02:42 AM »
Apocalypse specifically states "may target any point on the battlefield that is within Range". So this bypasses the normal targeting priority. Any point within 24" and LOS may be targeted.

SP

Well, I means that is as you wrote. But I had conflict with some players about that and I'm interested in other verdict on that problem.

Thanks
Czech Warzone community

Offline masherking

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • THE ALLATLOH of ROCK n' ROLLA
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2007, 07:04:34 AM »
Apocalypse specifically states "may target any point on the battlefield that is within Range". So this bypasses the normal targeting priority. Any point within 24" and LOS may be targeted.

SP

Well, I means that is as you wrote. But I had conflict with some players about that and I'm interested in other verdict on that problem.

Thanks

southpaw is as close to a offical answer as anyones ever gonna get.

By the way, Damn good Question. I have future plans for this spell and its good to have a clearer understanding......such a good "killed 3 squads in one turn MUHAHAHA!" spell.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2007, 07:11:18 AM by masherking »
Goddamn! its good to be the MasherKing.
home: New Jersey
E-bay: Johny_wonderful

Offline komplikator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Myself :)
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2007, 07:29:08 AM »
Quote
southpaw is as close to a offical answer as anyones ever gonna get.

By the way, Damn good Question. I have future plans for this spell and its good to have a clearer understanding......such a good "killed 3 squads in one turn MUHAHAHA!" spell.

Ok... In Polish and czech repubilc we are using only small explosion template for this spell. If your oponent counts with that, can hold 2-3" gap between models and then apocalypse is no deadly as is played with large explosion template.
Czech Warzone community

Offline masherking

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • THE ALLATLOH of ROCK n' ROLLA
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2007, 07:36:18 AM »
Quote
southpaw is as close to a offical answer as anyones ever gonna get.

By the way, Damn good Question. I have future plans for this spell and its good to have a clearer understanding......such a good "killed 3 squads in one turn MUHAHAHA!" spell.

Ok... In Polish and czech repubilc we are using only small explosion template for this spell. If your oponent counts with that, can hold 2-3" gap between models and then apocalypse is no deadly as is played with large explosion template.

I should add "the kill 3 squad" thing only happen once with me and it was more like 2 1/4 squads. thats because I rolled a 1 to cast it (got my actions back) then cast it again...never got that luck again :(

 
Goddamn! its good to be the MasherKing.
home: New Jersey
E-bay: Johny_wonderful

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2007, 09:13:26 AM »
Thanks for the compliment, masher, greatly appreciated.

Admittedly Warzone is not my specialty, so take my call for what it's worth. But the wording for the spell seems to support how I would interpret it, and I think it's worded that way for just that reason.

Yep, it's nasty, but hey....Dark Legion is supposed to be nasty....

SP
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline dmcgee1

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3179
  • Karma: +147/-7
  • Ask away!
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2007, 12:27:04 PM »
I'll second Southpaw's call.  As for Polish and Czech rules, I cannot agree.  It is, in my most humlest of opinions, wrong.
If sing, sang, and sung, sink, sank, and sunk, and drink, drank, and drunk, how is it that it isn't bring, brang, and brung, think, thank and thunk, and ding, dang, and dung?

Don't even get me started about bad, badder and baddest.  Run, ran AND run...again?  C'mon!

Online Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2007, 01:47:30 PM »
Southpaw has called it correctly. The spell description is quite clear.

Offline komplikator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Myself :)
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2007, 03:08:17 PM »
Southpaw has called it correctly. The spell description is quite clear.
Well, it means, the result of this question is: my nefarite can target any point with LOS and range, He can ignore  standard target priority rules. Correct?
Czech Warzone community

Offline masherking

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • THE ALLATLOH of ROCK n' ROLLA
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2007, 07:29:16 PM »
Well, it means, the result of this question is: my nefarite can target any point with LOS and range, He can ignore  standard target priority rules. Correct?

Apocalypse specifically states "may target any point on the battlefield that is within Range". So this bypasses the normal targeting priority. Any point within 24" and LOS may be targeted.

SP
Goddamn! its good to be the MasherKing.
home: New Jersey
E-bay: Johny_wonderful

Offline Topkick

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3052
  • Karma: +222/-22
  • Former Crusader Coordinator - Midwest Region
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2007, 07:31:42 PM »
Southpaw has called it correctly. The spell description is quite clear.
Well, it means, the result of this question is: my nefarite can target any point with LOS and range, He can ignore  standard target priority rules. Correct?

Yes
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind. - Dr. Seuss (1904 - 1991)

Homebase:  South Central Wisconsin
E-Bay Handle: Topkick-890

Offline komplikator

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Myself :)
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2007, 02:00:24 AM »
Southpaw has called it correctly. The spell description is quite clear.
Well, it means, the result of this question is: my nefarite can target any point with LOS and range, He can ignore  standard target priority rules. Correct?

Yes

I making sure that my rendering from english is correct. Thank you boys..
Czech Warzone community

Offline masherking

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • THE ALLATLOH of ROCK n' ROLLA
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2007, 04:25:42 AM »
your welcome
Goddamn! its good to be the MasherKing.
home: New Jersey
E-bay: Johny_wonderful

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Apocalypse and target priority?
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2007, 09:07:36 AM »
Glad to be of service, komplikator.

SP
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin