Author Topic: Wolf Totem Question  (Read 9264 times)

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Wolf Totem Question
« on: October 08, 2005, 08:15:43 AM »
Can this big baddie charge into base to base (or leap for that matter) so it's two heads can bite two different models?  If it's anywhere the size of the other Totems, it should be so.  I know (now) that a secondary attack cannot "walk" , as we've heard it coined, into another model even if it's in base to base, but the Wolfie Totem has two regular attacks for each action.  Thoughts?
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Southpaw

  • Board Member
  • The Board
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • I see lead people.
    • Topkick's Trading Post
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2005, 02:10:33 PM »
Since it is two regular attacks, and not a Secondary, that should be perfectly legal.
Webmaster/Manager
Topkick's Trading Post

The one truth of the Dark Lord is this: death is inevitable, flesh decays, and power commands...

From The Scrolls of the Dead
Negral Zar'akin

Offline T Prime

  • Big Kahuna, Chairman of the Board
  • Administrator
  • Member Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 6468
  • Karma: +75/-0
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2005, 10:48:26 AM »
Correct, normal rules for base contact need apply.
Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc
Excelsior!!

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2005, 11:06:25 AM »
Correct, normal rules for base contact need apply.
Which of course means that you cannot charge into two models since you must charge the closest target by the shortest route.  :)

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2005, 11:11:16 AM »
Hm.  Now I'll have to re-think my strategy.  :'(
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline masherking

  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1499
  • Karma: +44/-0
  • THE ALLATLOH of ROCK n' ROLLA
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2005, 12:24:52 PM »
I too feel your pain :'(
oh to have my darkaxes charge two models at once  :'(

-steve
Goddamn! its good to be the MasherKing.
home: New Jersey
E-bay: Johny_wonderful

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2005, 01:02:15 PM »
Had nothing special to do so I made a little picture of the geometry of it all.  :)

Blue and Red are two enemies standing next to each other and White is standing equally close to both of them. A charge that would take him into contact with both of them would be straight ahead. However he has to charge by the shortest route. As can be seen from the diagram the red and blue lines are shorter than the black one. So it is impossible to legally charge both Red and Blue.

You have to choose which one to charge, or roll for it.

Offline T Prime

  • Big Kahuna, Chairman of the Board
  • Administrator
  • Member Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 6468
  • Karma: +75/-0
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2005, 01:07:15 PM »
Nice diagram. :)
Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc
Excelsior!!

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2005, 11:38:12 AM »
Coil--I manage the records for a fair size law firm in Philadelphia.  The last thing I wanted to see was something that looks like an exhibit for a courtroom!  As long as I'm carryin' on like some rules lawyer, how would that diagram look with a large Totem base?  And wait 'til EE busts out the new pentagon bases for the Totems!  I'm gonna applaud you Coil; thanks for puttin' it down so I can see it.  I'll bet Thom is smirking right now.  Cheers.
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Coil

  • Board Member- First Crusader
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
  • Karma: +88/-1
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2005, 12:05:26 PM »
Someone else at the old forums made the same picture before, I'm only repeating it. :)

A large funky shaped base follows the same rules so in general the result will be the same. It is possible that some combination of weird base shape, distance between models and angles could create a situation that would actually let you contact two models at the same time without breaking the basic rule of charging by the shortest possible route.

I think the simplest solution is to say that a charge is always directed at one target but if both players agree then go ahead. If you want to be able to attack several models at once with the same charge you should invest in a Sisters of Tiamat.

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #10 on: October 25, 2005, 12:38:59 PM »
Just kidding Coil--I'm only being difficult.  ::)   But now that you mention it, I'll be watching out for Stygian Warrior's Sisters of Tiamat.  Ooooh Noooo.....
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline T Prime

  • Big Kahuna, Chairman of the Board
  • Administrator
  • Member Prime
  • *****
  • Posts: 6468
  • Karma: +75/-0
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2005, 12:48:59 PM »
Yep, I AM smirking....good call.
Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc
Excelsior!!

Offline Raga

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2011, 04:08:44 AM »
I have been using Wolf Totem lately and I think that Coil's diagram is not true for the Totem.

Wolf and Vulture totems are intended to attack multiple models during charge. That is why they have Leap.

Leap can be used to land anywhere and if a model lands in CC it counts as a charge (1st edition Rulebook - Page 140).
If I choose to land exactly where I touch two enemies I am able to charge both of them.

No weird base shape required :P

P.S The is also true for Devout Nameless.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 08:16:22 AM by Raga »
Let us drink to the power drink to the sound
Thunder and metal are shaking the ground
Drink to your brothers who are never to fall
We're brothers of metal here in the hall

Offline joshuaslater

  • Board Member
  • Administrator
  • Member Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3668
  • Karma: +115/-4
  • Homebase: Philadelphia, PA
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2011, 10:50:30 AM »
This has me thinking....
May the Dark Lords of Lead-Free Pewter smile kindly upon you.

Homebase: Philadelphia, PA

Offline Raga

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 151
  • Karma: +2/-2
Re: Wolf Totem Question
« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2011, 12:58:24 AM »
joshuaslater: What do you think of? Any objections?
Let us drink to the power drink to the sound
Thunder and metal are shaking the ground
Drink to your brothers who are never to fall
We're brothers of metal here in the hall